We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots and lots of great food”

Eleven Madison Park
Ranked #63 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: N or R to 23rd st. & Broadway, or take the 6 to 23th St. & Park Ave.
Description: Eleven Madison Park is located in a landmark art deco building with soaring 35-foot ceilings and a view of Madison Square Park. We offer an intimate bar featuring 35 wines by the glass as well as seasonal classic and proprietary cocktails. The second floor private dining rooms also feature views of Madison Square Park. For both lunch and dinner, Eleven Madison Park offers a Tasting Menu for $195.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The only option when we ate there was a 15 course tasting menu. We coupled it with wine pairing, and they were very accomodating with that for those in our party who did not care for the particular selection for a particular course. The sommelier was great and we felt like she was with us the entire night, as she came and poured and introduced each pairing. The food was great, even the sea urchin! Our entree was duck, and we were shown the finished duck before they took it to the kitchen and cut it up for us. That was a nice touch--it was a thing of beauty. The women in our group complained that there was too much food. Even though the portions were small, my wife could only take one bite of the duck (more for me). They send you home with homemade granola for breakfast, although after this meal, we did not need breakfast for several days. Be prepared to spend the 3-4 hours they say, be prepared to pay big bucks, but be prepared to be pampered and to taste fantastic food. You have to do this at least once in your life!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    247
    147
    62
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a special meal, but not for every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is excellent, but it really has to be an occasional treat. Not only will you leave stuffed, but the food is often peculiar, with molecular gastronomy and unusual combinations being commonplace. You pretty much have to have a tasting menu, where you select themes and not dishes, and also provide dietary restrictions or preferences. In addition to the main plates, you will receive 1-2 amuse bouches between them. Another great thing about 11 Madison is that it is right next to Madison park, so you can stroll through the small but pretty park after you have an excellent meal. I want to go back but I have to wait. The meal is too special to be a regular thing. I

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zvibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Top 2 or 3 dinner ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having been to Arzak (San Sebastian), Daniels and Ramsey at the London (NYC), Geranium and NOMA (Copenhagen) within the last few years plus a number of very good other one and two star restaurants around the US, Beijing, Europe and especially here in the now trending Copenhagen, we were coming to Eleven Madison Park with high expectations. We were not let down.

In creativity EMP in some courses rivals NOMA, but without ever losing sight of the fancyful creations having to be tasteful. An ingenious mix. And yes - the raw carrot being prepared at the table (critizised by several Tripadvisor reviewers) is actually one of the courses that gets EMP close to NOMA, even though I have to admit that the serving didn't get have enough taste.

Adding to this is the fantastic ambience of the room with the huge windows, combined with a relaxed but flawless service (and this goes especially for the sommerlier, whose knowledge and match of wines was impeccable).

Yes, this restaurant is a trending, modern restaurant, thats very close to the modern Scandinavian cuisine. If you want an "old school" 3 star dinner of high quality go to for example Daniel.

All in all this dinner goes into the top 3 if not top 2 of all time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I could type an essay on how amazing 11 mad was, so just do yourself a favour and go. They deserve are single michelin star.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank freakshoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best meal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A fantastic culinary journey. Eleven Madison deserve every Michelin star. The food, the wine and the service was exquisite. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GretheSku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Madison Park also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eleven Madison Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing