We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”
Review of Garage Restaurant and Cafe - CLOSED

Garage Restaurant and Cafe
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Christopher St
Transit: Take the # 1 train to Christopher street and we are on the corner of Christopher and 7th or take the A,B,C,D,E,F to west 4th street and walk two blocks
Description: What used to be a garage in the 20's is now a casual American restaurant famous for its live Jazz & late night meals. Out-of-towners & locals alike dive into the a la carte dinners & Prix Fixe Brunches while watching the show. In the summer, the outdoor cafe is an airy spot for micro-brewed beers, raw bar selections & a wide range of fresh seafood & grilled steaks. In the winter, tables around the stone fireplace warm crowds.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I first happened upon this restaurant years ago and enjoyed it enough then to make this a destination on this trip to NYC. Sat outside on the patio and enjoyed a great lunch in the sun! Food was great, service was great! Will definitely go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    126
    54
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food so-so”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Really cool atmosphere and good live jazz music. Romantic ambiance and lighting, but also good for small groups upstairs, or drinks at the bar with friends while listening to the band. Doesn't attract young crowds - most people were late 20's to mid-40's, which was nice.
I had their must popular entree, the seafood bollainasse, but was not impressed. Only two pieces of jumbo shrimp that was fishy tasting, two scallops, a few muscles that were so small and grimy and distasteful I only ate two (and I loooove muscles and order them all the time at restaurants in Boston where I live).
The service was not very good either in regard to our waitress. She didnt go over the specials with us, ask if we had any questions, but instead just asked if we were ready to order when we had just sat down two minutes prior to her coming over to our table. Needless to say, we didn't tip well at all - it was that poor of service from our waitress. Everyone else that worked there seemed to be of better service so it may have just been our experience.
If I were to go back, I would go for drinks only and the jazz music, which I did enjoy. Maybe their Sunday brunch...

Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“bland food good music”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We came on a Sunday for the Jazz Brunch.

Mimosas are served with the prix fix brunch and they came totally flat. When we returned them we received only slightly fizzy mimosas. I saw that they prepare big pitchers of them and they sit at the bar, rapidly losing their carbonation. Dumb. Do they think people won't notice?

We were immediately told that there was a time limit on both how long we could sit there and how long the "unlimited" coffee would last. Not very hospitable, n'est pas?

My partner ordered blueberry french toast which was completely uninteresting. We make far better french toast at home.

I ordered a garden omelet with goat cheese which was tasteless There was exactly one teaspoon sized clump of cheese in a lonely corner of the omelet. A little seasoning would have gone a long way to improving this extremely boring omelet. It wasn't even pretty.

On the other hand, the musical quartet was wonderful. We really enjoyed the jazz and made a request which was played. The place is also physically appealing.

Too bad about the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank haifasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Catch this place before it goes away”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Annual February trip to New York is underway and we always hit Garage Restaurant on the first night. As in the past, it did not disappoint at all. A great jazz combo was playing and everything from the cocktails to the espresso was flawless. The menu is quite comprehensive accordingly has something for everyone's taste. The staff could not be more helpful. The only downside is that it looks like the lease will not be renewed next year, so you only have a limited time to enjoy Garage. Easy to get to as there is a #1 Train stop right at the corner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOCinPWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waringstown
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Buzzing jazz bar/restaurant !”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were actually on our way to a per booked restaurant when we passed thus place! The menu looked great. There was a live jazz band playing and the place was buzzing. Also the food looked and smelt divine! It didn't disappoint ! Service was excellent and prompt! All the tables has a great view of the stage because if the way the room is set. I had a delicious ravioli but there was loads of choice. Reasonably priced . Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing