We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food anytime!”
Review of Haru

Haru
Order Online
Ranked #1,023 of 16,401 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Transit: 1, 2, 3, R, W, Q, N & 7 trains to 42nd Street/Times Square and E, A & C trains to 42nd Street/Eighth Avenue.
Description: Haru Sushi is a modern Japanese restaurant serving a wide variety of traditional sushi and sashimi as well as our signature specialty rolls.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Great food, good service! We’ve eaten here again and again! Brought our kids too and enjoyed many meals of excellence!
From their delicious gyozas to shashimi and California roll all food is delicious!
Shame they took off the menu the symphony! Please bring it back! We’d travel across the ocean just for that!
Watch out for very busy times as the restaurant is small and can be extremely crowded! Totally recommend this place!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matrixmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haru S, Guest Relations Manager at Haru, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

We appreciate you dining with Haru, thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 723 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in for an early dinner before a show. We cannot fault the food... we had the hot and sour soup, the ceviche tacos, crab dumplings, brussel sprouts, the Park Avenue Roll and the Dragon Roll. All were excellent. But the service sucked. We went several times with empty water glasses or a table full of dirty dishes. The waitress looked like I was asking her to do my taxes when I asked her to split the check. Jeeze. And for some reason, in a nearly empty restaurant they sat us with tables immediately to either side of us. Spread us out! Give us some room!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank AlwaysPlanningCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haru S, Guest Relations Manager at Haru, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Carrie, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

Heading to an 8 o'clock broadway show? Then Haru will get you in and out without feeling the pressure of being rushed. The sushi options are numerous and the drinks perfect complements.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank cszostak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haru S, Guest Relations Manager at Haru, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

We have been to Haru every year for 15-18 years. We love it. This time we went for lunch ($20) and the fish was incredible. Our service sucked but we put up with it because the fish is soooo gooood!

When you complain, they fix it. It is great. Please go, you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johndS6267VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haru S, Guest Relations Manager at Haru, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

John, On behalf of our team here at Haru, we would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

Being in the Times Square / Theater district, we were prepared for exorbitant prices. Surprisingly great value for good food.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank modernlizbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haru also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Haru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing