We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Murray Hill”
Review of Hudson Place Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hudson Place Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 36th Street
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gem in Murray Hill”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Love this place. This was my second time here and again was delicious. This is a quaint restaurant with very good food, good prices and a friendly staff. Was with 2 other friends and we shared the appetizer, which was a special of the day, of crabmeat tacos. Excellent. We all had salads-I had the chopped salad with grilled chicken, the others had Nicoise salad and chicken caesar salad. The menu is extensive so you have a choice of a sandwich, salad, burger or fresh fish, pasta or pizza. There is something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good food and great service. The restaurant is in a local area away from the hustle and bustle of the city so worth walking a few blocks for. The lobster cobb salad was delicious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good American cuisine”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nicely decorated place, friendly staff, interesting menu of American classics. The meatloaf did not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Lobster Roll.......”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hudson Place is my local neighborhood haunt. It has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the food is good value. They have a busy lunch time trade and always an evening crowd. You can sit up at the bar and have a glass of wine too if you prefer. It's family orientated for Sunday brunch. Their lobster roll is fabulous! - a brioche filled to the brim with chunks of lobster topped with shoestring fries and coleslaw on the side! A perfect combination!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bblonde52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant. Definitely worth the visit.... :-)”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our nearby hotel made the recommendation for Hudson Place when I asked for a warm and cozy restaurant with a somewhat sophisticated northern Italian menu with plenty of grilled meat/fish options and generous salads, along with a nice wine selection. We were very happy. Easy walking distance to our hotel at 42nd and 3rd (near Chrysler Building) and a great choice.

Hudson Place, near 3rd Ave and 36th Street, feels like a neighborhood restaurant because it's relaxed and friendly, but still very professional. The interior has maritime influences, hence the name, as a tribute to NYC's famous river, but is at the same time warm (nice fireplace as you enter) and comfortable. Our service was very good, with several wait staff helping one another to make sure things ran smoothly.

Everything we ordered was well prepared with perfect timing in delivery. Special notes go to excellent corn encrusted grilled calamari, full rack of ribs (my son, a bbq expert, said his were great and well priced), and very nice flank steak salad.

NYC's seemingly unlimited choices in restaurants make it harder than expected to choose where to go, but Hudson Place is a great choice. We were late diners, so the restaurant was not super busy when we arrived and we ended up being the last diners. Kudos to staff member who waited for us to depart before breaking down/cleaning up the restaurant for the night.

Very good choice!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Place Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing