We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dumplings, crowded & noisy”
Review of Joe's Shanghai

Joe's Shanghai
Ranked #364 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sugar Land
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Fun dumplings, crowded & noisy”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband is Taiwanese and makes wonderful dumplings, so we enjoy trying dumplings whenever possible. Joe's Shanghai deserves its high rating for tasty dumplings, especially their signature soup pork dumplings. No reservations, and the Chinatown location can be a bit hard to find, plus it is cash only. Be prepared to wait and be seated at a large table with strangers. This wasn't a problem for us and my Asian NYC friend. There is a large menu, with many appetizer, soup, and entrée choices, with very large portions. Shrimp dumplings and onion pancakes were excellent, and the shrimp noodle dish and lions head meatballs were also delicious. Prices were reasonable. I would consider coming back here and highly recommend it if you are a dumpling lover.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    546
    173
    67
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good chinese food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

In the heart of Chinatown, food quality was very good. Service was brusque but efficient. Dim sum is a must-very good. You may share a table, as we did. Worked out fine, we even shared our dishes with the tablemate.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Was it worth queing?”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We queue up and waited for 45 minutes and still not sure was it worth the wait! This place was the only place which had a queue in the whole of Chinatown! The dumblings was fresh, steamy and juicy, it's a must! The flat noodles was very good as was the steam fish too but what is it with Chinese restaurants and their toilet facilities, it let the whole experience down!!! By the way, you have to share tables too with other people and it's something that I am not very good with! Not sure if I will go back if I was in the area again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CKCK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

They are famous for their shanghai dumplings for a reason. We were fortunate to have walked in with waiting at the door. Everything was delicious, dumplings, scallion pancakes, pot stickers... By the time we finished, there was a long line out the door; this was on a Tuesday night. This place is popular, highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great dumpling experience in NYC”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I must admit I'm a little addicted to dumplings, so I sought this place out. Ruth Riechl the famed and feared NY Times restaurant critic once described the pork dumplings as the best things in the world. So they were definitely on our order along with some Tsing Tao beer wash them down. The trick to Shanghai dumplings is to poke you chopstick through the top to let the soup inside cool down and then 'slurp and savour' it afterward with chilli oil.
We went on a weekday bang on 12pm so there wasn't too much of a wait. Sharing tables means you can also meet some interesting people. We had 7 dumplings to share for $7.50 which we thought was great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desertspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Shanghai also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing