We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful for all the senses”
Review of Juni - CLOSED

Juni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Juni’s simple elegance and monochromatic aesthetic allows the focus to remain on the table, and on the vibrancy of Chef Shaun Hergatt’s dishes. Chef Hergatt leads every table on a journey of evolving flavors, tastes and textures, through a seasonal menu showcasing the bounty of the harvest and ingredients at their finest. Juni is a personal affair between the guest and the chef.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful for all the senses”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Juni, opened within the past year at the Hotel Chandler in New York, was picked mostly because we were staying there after a long flight and sounded good. Good does not begin to describe the meal! The restaurant is small, with only some 60 seats total, and the decor is understated. The menu offers a 4 or 6 course prix-fixe meal or a 10 course "Chef's tasting." We opted for the 4 course, but had numerous "amuse bouche" tastings also offered, and the quantity was more than adequate. Each course was a delight, with colors, texture and taste all sublime. Service was hovering-attentive. The wine list is not huge but excellent. It was pricey - dinner for three with a modest wine and tip came to almost $500 - but I did not regret a penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    63
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, but 7 courses in one hour?? Come on...”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent a Saturday night - or I should say we planned to spend a Saturday night - at Juni.

We sat down and looked at the menu and decided to go for a four course dinner. My friend is very fond of red wine and I'm not, so he ordered a special and fairly expensive bottle for himself - given that we had all night.

Within the first ten minutes after our order was placed, the waiter came out with three small "tastes" - in three separate servings (every 3 minutes). At this point my friends wine bottle had not yet arrived.

Immediately after the appetizers were consumed, the first appetizer arrived but still no wine.

A few minutes later the second appetizer arrived, and we were like - this is fast! At this point the wine bottle arrived. We asked the waiter to hold off on the main course, and that was OK.

Just 15 minutes later the main course arrived, and my friend was just halfway through his first glass of the bottle.

This means we had 7 courses in just one hour - and the wine bottle was left half full when we left the restaurant.

Everything we ate was beautifully presented, and it was truly a "taste fest" in my mouth with every course.

It's just sad that our night was ruined due to extreme rush from the kitchen.

Would I go again? Yes! But I would send back any course arriving less than half an hour after the previous...;)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cato1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superlative to Soaring”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here specifically to see what the chef is doing (used to go to his outstanding previous place downtown). Have only had dinner here once (so far) but much to my delight but not surprise it was heavenly. Did the short (4-course) prix fixe menu which entails a long series of delicious and clever amuse bouche. Several dishes just soared. All were superlative. Wine list is excellent and very reasonably priced IMO, lots of gems in the $100-200 range. Service was a bit rushed but we did go toward the end of service (no excuse but might explain). Would probably put in one of top 20 meals I've ever had, maybe even higher (service kind of let it down). Expensive certainly but reasonable for the experience and relative to its peers. Beautiful room. Will be back as soon as possible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainmenuNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
171 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant, skilled chef”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Come here if you are a foodie, the well known chef here takes care in his food preparation and presentation. Reasonably priced as well! The staff are suitably polite, attentive and lovely! A place to go in New York if you like the finer things.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“FIGHTING TO BE NR ONE”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Its true that the restaurant is on a somewhat drab part of town yet it is slowly becoming one of my favorites, close to edging out my current number one. The atmosphere is tranquil, the décor subdued. I have been for dinner as well as lunch. The latter is a superb deal, very reasonable price and wonderful cuisine. Dinner is a much more involved process with the chance to try several different dishes, all of them a veritable jewel. Small yet superlative combination of flavors and textures. Try to go there for the longer dinner menu, eat lightly during the day and avoid the tempting baguettes which will impinge on your appetite. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juni also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing