We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for what it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beer Culture

Beer Culture
Ranked #785 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighborhood: Midtown
Des Moines
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great for what it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went here just before a matinee and it was wonderful for what it is but I'm not sure it's the 71st best restaurant in NY but that's a trip advisor issue not Beer Culture's. Huge selection of beers and some ciders. The food is very good but a bit "sketchy" with chile and meatballs being served out of Crockpots behind the bar. The bartender was extremely friendly (as was everyone) and knowledgeable about beer. In this place, with their selection that is no small feat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to the heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This place will welcome you through good beer and a comfortable atmosphere to drink it in. Good music and good people. The plethora of beer will grace your eyes, your beer-drinking creativity, and your palette. You need to go there. Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just a stones throw from Broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is my favorite bar for meeting people near Time Square. It's close enough everyone can find it, and i don't have to walk thru time Square. They have a good selection of Whiskey and bourbon, but where they really shine is beer. The Taps are an ever evolving fountain of delicious. If you can't find what you want on tap just turn around and visit the coolers. i have never had a friend disappointed by their selection. If all you want is domestic completely flavorless beer don't forget to visit the forlorn little fridge on the end.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beer Bar That Does Very Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I visited Beer Culture yesterday afternoon after because I was looking for a beer bar that sold cask conditioned ale and did food. We found this place by first by searching Alex Hall's Cask Conditioned Beer Data Base then read reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The cask beer was unique (an oatmeal stout flavored with chocolate and chili from the Breckenridge Brewery). They also offered about a dozen tap beers as well as a very extensive bottle selection (which you could take away back to your hotel/apartment or drink there). They also offered growlers to take away. The food menu was small. We had a very good hot pretzel which came with a nice mustard as an appy and we both had excellent pressed sandwiches. The atmosphere was very friendly. We engaged in conversations with the gentleman behind the bar as well as one of the patrons. A very welcoming place that we will visit again on another visit to NYC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spikedude61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Here's the Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Wonderful little place to wait for the play to begin and explore the world of Beer. Great high alcohol suds from around the world. Interesting assortment of national whiskeys as well. Helpful staff and young crowd. Perfect for close friends and good booze.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Culture also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Beer Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing