We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess I expected more.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick & Stef's Steakhouse

Nick & Stef's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick & Stef's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,082 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 8th Avenue and 33rd Street
Transit: A,C,E,N,R,F,V, NJ Transit, LIRR and Amtrak to Penn Station
Description: Nick & Stef's Steakhouse is a fine dining restaurant located next to New York's Madison Square Garden and is known as one of the best steakhouse in NYC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I guess I expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Food was just average. We had a large group so we all ordered a little bit of everything. Mac Cheese was the most raved about.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    32
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent Pre game meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Went here by chance on a trip to NYC and an ice hockey game. Busy but staff took care of us. Steaks are unreal and home cut chips just to die for, they even have a stair way in to the garden A1

Helpful?
Thank Dartheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUTZTOWN
Level Contributor
136 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good bread and butter....but that's about it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Only ate here because of its convenience to Madison Square Garden. Bread was good....seafood risotto was mushy. Stick to the steaks I guess....not much other than steaks on the menu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rsakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, steak & amazing cheesecake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having been terribly disappointed by days of poor dining experiences in New York, I was at 'the last chance saloon' when I visited Nick & Stef's Steakhouse. Not disappointing, the welcome was most efficient and I was quickly directed to a clean and well laid table with comfortable seating in a pleasant environment. Service was swift and professional, efficient & unobtrusive and the menu was simple, well laid out and easily legible. The steak was perfectly cooked, exactly as I'd ordered, rare and tender, juicy, the taste was exquisite with excellent creamy mashed potatoes to compliment. Annoyingy but common in New York, the plate was not warm / heated, serving hot food on cold plates is a New York speciality that would not be acceptable in the UK where dining is infinitely superior in general. However apart from that one small point, the cheesecake to follow was totally delectable, melting in the mouth, unbeatable and rounded off with a good coffee it made for a perfect, quiet and most enjoyable New York evening meal. The drink also managed to arrive without ice, perfect, indicating that they listen to their client, something that wasn't often apparent again in previous NYC establishments. The service could not be faulted in any way, I was therefore moved to comment to the management on my way out & their response was to underline a due pride in their standards, food & service & above all, a respect for their clientele. If they heated their plates they would have achieved 100% for this experience, my finest dining experience in New York city for sure. Thank you Nick & Stef's & I received a welcome discount there using my City Pass that I handed back by way of a tip & more. Highly recommended & for me a pleasant walk from Times Square, a must visit location well deserving of its superior reputation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Mather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Amazing - no complaints, steaks were first rate! Service extremely good and prices were better than I would have expected.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhilborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick & Stef's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Nick & Stef's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing