We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great italian finding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Giallo

Pepe Giallo
Ranked #642 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A New York Icon Know For Simple Authentic Italian Food Without The Pretense
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great italian finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went there for lunch and we were happy with cosy atmosphere, nice staff and service but also great food.
We ordered for bolognese pasta and excellent ravioli with cream sauce. It was so good that i could have eat more. Probably that ravioli quantity could be more generous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carladiluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Exceptionally good Italian food in an exceptionally comfortable casual atmosphere with an exceptionally nice staff and very reasonable prices right in Chelsea off of the High Line and near some great galleries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stmalo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Italian authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent Italian authentic cuisine, delicious tasty pasta, reasonably priced, the right sized portions. Delicious wine - we drank Nero D'Avola.
Great place to check out after visiting Chelsea galleries.
The staff was very attentive and friendly, and we will come back for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

After visiting Chelsea Galleries late on a Saturday night, my sister and I walked up and down 10th Avenue for a few blocks and settled on Pepe Giallo. We were glad we did. The meal was reasonably priced and the food was delicious. Our waiter was relaxed, attentive and didn't rush us even though they had closed by the time we had finished. I loved my meal. I had Pollo with Sauteed Spinach and my sister had Butternut Squash Ravis. The pear tart for dessert was also delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Rudest waiter. Gnocchi Gorgonzola no blue cheese taste. Expensive for portions and for simple pasta. Unwelcoming.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rudest waiter I have ever encountered anywhere. I was enjoying an early Sunday evening dinner with a fellow diplomat. because we both served in Latin America, neither of us could pinpoint waiter's origin. This is something diplomats and many others do in identifying heritage of waiters which is a fun thing to do in such a richly diverse place like NYC. It gives the guest an opportunity to interact and connect with the waiter and say thank you. When I asked the waiter where was he from he refused to say and rudely said he was too busy and not interested in engaging in any other type of conversation...maybe he thought we worked with dHS? he even refused to answer in Spanish. i paid bill, did not order coffee, desert or after dinner drinks and left. Will never return. Pasta dishes were expensive for portions and for pasta. The gnocchi Gorgonzola did not have the slightest taste of blue cheese. It tasted mostly like cream. Management should put wait staff through training. If one engages the guests the tip will be better and the guests will feel engaged and welcomed and will return. We also were testing out the restaurants for a much larger dinner to take place later this month. Clearly this place is no longer being considered.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hilarionmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Giallo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pepe Giallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing