We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great find”
Review of Rocking Horse Cafe

Rocking Horse Cafe
Ranked #1,065 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really great find”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We wanted Mexican and the hotel concierge recommended this restaurant. When we got there we weren't sure but spoke to a group of ladies going in and they assured us it had great food and they were right. Food was awesome and the staff were really friendly and accommodating. They happily prepared something simple for the kids that wasn't on the menu. I would absolutely go back to this restaurant. Margaritas were really really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    85
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Drinks Need More Alcohol”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I just went to dinner here. First time I've eaten here in a LONG time. Food still excellent, though only one dish was as hot (temperature wise) as it should have been. And they have the tastiest drinks-- HOWEVER, where's the alcohol??? I had their special margarita-- the Tropical-- all sorts of fruit and really yummy, but even after the tall glass and the $13 price tag, there was no buzz. Where's the tequila, guys??? I had a second margarita, the cheaper $10 house version (plain) and STILL no buzz. This is a nice place and they should not be cheating customers on their drinks... specials or not. Also, noise level at the front where the bar is, is 20 decibels! You have to shout to be heard. No kidding. I have eaten in the back, which may be where they put you if you make reservations (we were walk-ins), but I seem to remember the noise level being pretty bad there too. All in all, I'll make reservations for a back table and go back again. PS Brunch is great and not as noisy as dinner, nor is there as much of a crush of people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac52NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“gourmet nouvelle mexican”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

you have never experienced a burrito like this. forget Rosa Mexicano and get a reservation here - or walk in for lunch. The food is refined, creative and unusual - - not your typical mexican and not your typical restaurant. Lunch atmosphere is quieter than dinner, when it can get a bit crowded and noisy - but the food - oh the food is worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I love it here: GO FOR BRUNCH”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ultimate Brunch spot. It's ALWAYS good. I've been here about 20 times for brunch and it consistently please me. If I could eat brunch there every weekend for the rest of my life I would be content.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“one of my favourite eateries in New York”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Rocking Horse Cafe is my first stop every time I come to New York. Great atmosphere, excellent Margaritas. The food is really good. Sitting at the bar is great for having lunch or dinner if you are alone. Love the Brunches on Saturday and Sunday. Going there for 10 years and had no complaint so far.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tango_Lima_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocking Horse Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rocking Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing