We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the PF Chang's of Mexican Food!”

Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 62nd Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains to 59th Street. 1 train to Lincoln Center (66th)
Description: Our highly anticipated second Rosa Mexicano location opened in July 2000. Just steps away from Lincoln Center, this impressive David Rockwell-designed space features a 30-foot iridescent blue tile water wall that spans both levels of the restaurant and is adorned with 240 miniature cliff divers. Here you’ll also find a dramatic “floating” staircase made of orange and red terrazzo slabs and backlit panels behind the bar embedded with rose petals. Awarded “Best Restaurant 2000” by Interiors Magazine, this unique, contemporary look ushered in a new era for us at Rosa Mexicano.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“the PF Chang's of Mexican Food!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Its like the PF Chang's of mexican food. My family loves mexican food. Their guacamole is great, and they make it as spicy as you like it. The quality of their food and ingredients is well above any other mexican place. We enjoy dining here, service was very good, staff friendly and the food was enjoyed by all. I had the ahi tuna ceviches, tasty but the watermelon pieces were overpowering the rest of the dish, especially the tuna.I had the pescado pibil which was very tasty, highly recommended. The flan was good, but heavy on the coffee flavor, and the kids loved the churros with the sauces. My wife didn't care too much for the margaritas, the wine was decent, we had ordered the cab.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    401
    139
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“for tourists”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We go to the opera and concerts a lot and finding restaurants that aren't overpriced, noisy or just overrated is difficult.
Rosa Mexicana makes nice looking food that's tastes ok but I find it unauthentic and bland. The service is good but it's noisy and the wine is nothing special and expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Holly~
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent dining experience at Rosa Mexicano. We take great pride in delivering the most authentic and enjoyable Mexican dining experience to our guests and look forward to having the opportunity to impress a better opinion of Rosa Mexicano upon you in the near future. Your information and concerns have been forwarded to our management team who would like the opportunity to follow up with you in the near future, as we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Montgomery, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This our second trip to Rosa Mexicano and it is wonderful! My boyfriend and I went here on our first date last year and have decided to keep the tradition going!

The ambiance is calm and relaxing. I love the wall when you first walk in.

The food is great. Table side guacamole, expensive, but tasty. Since my boyfriend is Mexican, he always picks our meals! The tacos are great and so are the homemade tortillas.

Margaritas and sangria are strong and tasty.

Service is great. We will definitely continue going to Rosa Mexicano.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in NYC”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The food here is not your typical Mexican tacos and enchiladas. It is much more sophisticated and intricate. And the guacamole, which is made at your table, is the best anywhere! It is a perfect place to dine before a Lincoln Center event.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nylady315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were looking for a mid-afternoon meal before leaving NYC and got lucky with this pick. Decent food at lunch prices. I got the Cobb salad. Very good with fresh vegetables, blue cheese, sausage and grilled chicken . My husband ordered the quesadilla. It was a bit thin, but a full 8" shell with cheese to the edges.

The waiter finally brought a little salsa. And complimentary chips would have gone a long way to make up for the $3.75 diet Coke.

Location great and service pretty good. I bet it gets expensive fast on the dinner menu, so go for lunch!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing