We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for family celebrations. Also great for celiacs.”

Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 62nd Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains to 59th Street. 1 train to Lincoln Center (66th)
Description: Our highly anticipated second Rosa Mexicano location opened in July 2000. Just steps away from Lincoln Center, this impressive David Rockwell-designed space features a 30-foot iridescent blue tile water wall that spans both levels of the restaurant and is adorned with 240 miniature cliff divers. Here you’ll also find a dramatic “floating” staircase made of orange and red terrazzo slabs and backlit panels behind the bar embedded with rose petals. Awarded “Best Restaurant 2000” by Interiors Magazine, this unique, contemporary look ushered in a new era for us at Rosa Mexicano.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice for family celebrations. Also great for celiacs.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have visited a few times - always with kids. Nice mix of upscale food and cocktails in an environment where kids are tolerated and can "raise their game". Huge variety of Mexican food - with a standalone gluten-free menu that is excellent. Guacamole at the table might be pricey, but is delish!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    401
    139
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lively Noisy but the food is good”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to this restaurant which in itself says something. It was much noisier this time largely due to an unruly party of about twenty a couple of tables away. However the food was up to the same high standard I remembered in my last visit. If you have not tried it you must give it a go once if nothing more than to see the make the guacamole by the side of your table. This is their USP and it is simply delicious. This time I also followed this with Carne Asada done rare. It was excellent mixing good food with the complexity of Mexican cooking. The waiter was attentive and always willing to help. I will be back !

Helpful?
Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-Lincoln Center ballet lunch spot”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hubby and I chose to dine here for lunch before a recent ballet matinee, based on its proximity to Lincoln Center and on a recommendation from a friend. We enjoyed our meal very much.

Tableside guacamole was a treat (if a tad pricey as a shared appetizer), pitcher of sangria an indulgence (but worth it, enjoyed throughout our meal), and our entrees and dessert were delicious. Hubby had the chicken enchiladas, which were bathed in a delicious green sauce that I think was some sort of cilantro creme. I opted for the unusual pork belly and scallop tacos, which were tasty, and accompanied by yummy sides of pickled veggies, scrumptious creamed corn, and unusual beans. The tomatillo and pasilla sauces for the tortilla chips were so fresh and delicious, too!

Service was prompt and attentive, and waitstaff was well synchronized. I didn't think the food prices were terribly high for NYC, but at $35, the pitcher of sangria was a splurge! No matter, it was the best sangria we have had, and was a rare treat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingsandroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“A Lincoln Center Favorite”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The margheritas here are delicious and they have the best guacomole in New York. I recommend the shrimp dishes. The noise level is a bit high, but the food is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Rosa Mexicano has always been reliable but of late has become a bit tired and needs some new tricks. Drinks are pricey and the tableside guac is good but expensive. Would be great if they did something new and different and at a better value

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing