We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best steaks I've had in awhile!”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 6th & 7th Avenues
Transit: 49th N/R/F Rockefeller
Description: Sophisticated American chain serves up corn-fed USDA prime cuts and New Orleans-style appetizers and sides
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I've had in awhile!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything was pretty much perfect. We got the porterhouse steak for two and it was delicious. We also had the shoestring fries and asparagus for sides. It was so much food, but we enjoyed every bite of it. The price is kinda steep, but it's really not bad compared to other places. We definitely will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 839DaveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    328
    103
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Steak in town”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We especially went for the New York Strip - excellent steak. So big we could have shared!! Side dishes of potato gratin and asparagus very good. Good bottle of wine. Find it very expensive, but as a treat well worth it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
212 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love the food, not the experience!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Before we ordered, I warned our waitress that we are VERY particular about our steaks - well done without being charred and burnt. We then ordered 2 filets, along with appetizers. The crab stuffed mushrooms were delicious, as was the side of fries. Our steaks came and before they were set down, I could tell that they were well charred and told the waitress so. We then cut into the steaks and parts were still pink, despite the burnt outside. So, steaks were sent back while we kept munching on the other dishes. Second round - Steaks looked good, cut into them and they were bright red, back to the kitchen they went. Round 3 - this time the manager delivered the steaks, along with fresh appetizers; steaks were perfect and were well enjoyed. We love the food at all the Ruth's Chris' that we have been to, just don't understand how a steakhouse can't get a steak right the first time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best steak ever had .....its just Heaven”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I have been to this place when I was on a official trip to NY

I am not a great fan of steak but when I had it here that was ultimate ...tastes just perfect

quality of steak was just what steak is all about

Helpful?
Thank Maddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What's Not to Like?”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Except for Saturdays they have Happy Hour in the bar until 6.30 where cocktails and wine is 7 dollars and beers five. They also offer some really excellent looking mini plates for 7 and we were beginning to wish we hadn't booked a table in the main restaurant.
Anyway, once happy hour was behind us we ventured into the Oak panelled dining room. Service throughout was top notch. The steak was truly fantastic as were the sides. The strip steak turned out to be too much for both of us so we resorted to a good looking doggy bag for tomorrow maybe. Extensive wine list, cheapest about 46 but not bad.
Anyway, no hesitation in recommending. It would be picky to suggest anything was below par. Even on the way out an employee could see we were looking for the rest rooms and without asking said 'second left'. Try it,  very convenient for Rockefella Centre. and we were beginning to wish we hadn't booked a table in the main restaurant.
Anyway, once happy hour was behind us we ventured into the Oak panelled dining room. Service throughout was top notch. The steak was truly fantastic as were the sides. The strip steak turned out to be too much for both of us so we resorted to a good looking doggy bag for tomorrow maybe. Extensive wine list, cheapest about 46 but not bad.
Anyway, no hesitation in recommending. It would be picky to suggest anything was below par. Even on the way out an employee could see we were looking for the rest rooms and without asking said 'second left'. Try it,  very convenient for Rockefella Centre. 


Sent from Samsung S3 Mobi 

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing