We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo gooood!”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 6th & 7th Avenues
Transit: 49th N/R/F Rockefeller
Description: Sophisticated American chain serves up corn-fed USDA prime cuts and New Orleans-style appetizers and sides
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sooooo gooood!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Oh man! Booked this place for new years eve after reading the reviews.. The food is sooo goood! Well myself and my partner enjoyed it very much. Staff was great and always available considering the busy time. We never ate such a large amount of steak. My partner got sizzling crab cake (starter),NY strip steak (massive main!), spinach gratin (side) - all soooo delicious. I got spicy lobster (yum yum starter), petit filet and shrimp (yummmy main) and asparagus (yum side)..
Food is very good and will def go back when in NY. Will recommend it if you like steak!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pouty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    334
    105
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have eaten at this location several times and most recently earlier this month.

The service is always very good, and the steak and lamb, veggies, caesar salad and bread pudding of that matter are definitely to be tried.

If you are looking for a solid steak diner with very good service and easily accessible location in NYC try Ruth's Chris without hesitation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeMoore33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive for what it was”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Delicious steak but have had similar at a much more reasonable price. No children's menu offered which added to the final cheque. All extras are charged for so you have to build your meal by adding vegetables and chips. Felt a bit disappointed after reading other rave reviews

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another perfect meal...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am never disappointed and always return each time I am in the city. The food is always cooked to perfection, and the waitstaff professional.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjd572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eve of the Eve Meal”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been to a few other RC locations and this one held its own. The atmosphere was great. We were seated promptly. The server was informed, snappy and polite. The steaks were great (as usual:-).

Only thing close to a miss were the apps. 3 orders of spicy lobster arrived "barely warm". Had we not been in a huge hurry I would not have hesitated to send them back. But we had a show to catch so we ignored the blunder.

BUT...if RC were interested in providing me a replacement coupon...I would gladly accept.:-)

Note: several nights later I ordered the same app at RC in GR Michigan. It was prepared and presented perfectly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkisTheDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing