We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Steak, worth the price to eat here !!”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 6th & 7th Avenues
Transit: 49th N/R/F Rockefeller
Description: Sophisticated American chain serves up corn-fed USDA prime cuts and New Orleans-style appetizers and sides
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak, worth the price to eat here !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Even if you normally do not spend this price range for a meal, when you do,
you will want to choose a Restaurant that will deliver a fine quality meal,
and make you glad you came in, and tell your friends about.

I almost selected Starks steak house because of the history,
but was happy we chose this location to dine on our first New York
trip together.

Good Dinning Experience here! A + Grade.

Thanks Ritchie H.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    324
    103
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the third time I have visited this location, and the food just keeps getting better. Everything is great, but in particular I enjoy the Caesar salad and the rib-eye steak. Yum!

Also, I felt the prices were reasonable considering the location and the quality of food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsy0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I went to Ruth Chris before a Broadway show. It is away from the crowds but close to the Broadway theaters. The food was very good. It was restaurant week. I ordered a ribeye steak and split it with my friend. The service was good and the steak was very tasty and tender.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Craving steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was in the mood for some steak after a long day of work, but not your typical diner or fast food crap. I googled steakhouses and settled on Ruths Chris as i had heard good things about them. I dragged my Assistant with since it was a last minute craving and i did not want to dine alone. The place is amazing, beautiful setting, though a bit too dark for me. The smells coming from the tables around and sizzling of different proteins just makes your mouth water. I happened to come in during restaurant week which was awesome. i had the 3 course meal. Lobster bisque was a great start. I ordered the NY Strip (extra charge) with shhrimp. The steak was amazing, medium well..i nice sear outside and juicy but not bloody in the middle. A side of mushrooms and my meal was perfect. Finished off with bread pudding ans whisky sauce. If only i could end every stressful work day like this.

Shoutout to Shannon my waiter!! Awesome guy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Without time for a proper sit down dinner, we chose Ruth's Chris for it's location (right next to the Michelangelo Hotel on 51st) and abundant Happy Hour menu. Two Martinis, two generously sized Caesar Salads and an order of Pork Sliders did the trick and for less than $45 total. Couldn't beat it! Everything was delicious and we were in and out and on our way to a Broadway show with time to spare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing