We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better Shula's experience than others I've tried”
Review of Shula's Steak House - CLOSED

Shula's Steak House
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 8th Avenue
Transit: A,C,E,1,2,3,7,N,R,W,Q,S to 42nd Street (Times Square) & 8th Avenue Bus
Description: Shula's Steak House is ranked among North America's top ten steakhouses. Since 1989, our custom center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef accompanied by our aging process have made up the award winning SHULA CUTS, the best beef money can buy. Each restaurant is themed after the 1972 Miami Dolphins' "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season undefeated. At Shula's Steak Houses, one of the featured entrees is the 48 oz Porterhouse. Those who finish it join Shula's 48-Ounce Club, which currently has more than 34,420 members. In addition to exceptional steaks, Shula's offers fresh seafood, lamb and daily chop specials. We also offer an award-winning wine list featuring a variety of selections to make your dining experience a perfect one. Featured in Opentable's Diner's Choice for Best Steakhouse - Manhattan. Conveniently located in the heart of the Broadway theater district and adjacent to the E-Walk entertainment complex.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good service, well-presented and cooked food. A little quiet, but this was welcomed given tables are located very close together

Thank Khatls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

KelvinATL, we want to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant.

We'll absolutely make sure to share your kind comments with everyone here. From our culinary team to our waitstaff, we've got some of the best people around working with us. They truly go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day write a nice review. We hope you realize that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and son got the Filet Oscar. I have never seen so much lump crab meat on filet. The service was fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tntraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

tntraveler62, thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City. We are ecstatic to hear that your entire family loved their experience at Shula's.

Your husband and son made a great choice for their entrees. Our Filet Oscar is a spectacular dish. We definitely go all out with the amount of succulent lump crab meat that we put on top of our SHULA-CUT filet.

We noticed your comments about our amazing staff too. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to pass along your kind remarks to them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was good but not great. I tend to eat in a lot of steakhouses annually so I am fussy. The menu selections are just what you expect for a big city steakhouse & the prices were the same as well. They have a surprisingly small wine list but it held enough decent choices under $100. We had good bountiful appetizers with very adequate service from the attentive wait staff.

However . . . in talking to my table mates later, three out of five of our steaks were just a hair overcooked. Think medium medium rather than medium rare. Understandable? Yes. Acceptable? Not really at this level. Sure, we could have returned them but since this was a business dinner we just dove in & enjoyed them anyway. To put it a different way: They weren't “eat off the floor good”. My 3/5 overall rating reflects this.

Conclusion: A decent feed but it could have been better. My last Shula’s dinner – years ago in Miami - was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

imcarthur, we want to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City and we'd also like to thank you for leaving feedback from your experience. We are happy to hear that you felt our food was good and that we had a decent amount of wines under $100.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that your steak and a few of your colleagues' steaks were a tad overcooked. We want to apologize for this. As you noted in your review, we would have been more than happy to take them back and correct the issue, however, we can understand your desire to not cause any disruptions during your business dinner. We have made sure to notify our culinary team of this and will work to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate twice at Shula's during our stay in NYC- the first was breakfast which was very busy and VERY expensive! The food was delicious but breakfast of a basket of bread and pastry and juices and coffee was nearly $40! Dinner was excellent food but the steak was sold separately from the vegetables and potatoes so the meal really added up. Ours was over $100 with no dessert or alcohol. It has a wonderful ambience to it and is certainly a nice place to celebrate a special occasion but we wouldn't dine there often due to the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chika52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Chika52, thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for dining with us during your time in New York City. We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you loved our food and enjoyed your dining experience

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that steak is sold separately from our sides. We are glad that you brought this up. Our menu is completely a la carte. Our sides are very large and are actually made to share.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you next time you're in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

When we first looked at the menu we thought that it seemed rather pricey but the quality of the food and level of service were well worth the price tag. Steak (obviously) but also plenty of other choice along with some more unusual dishes made this a great dining experience

Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Sue A, we want to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a fantastic review. We are extremely happy to hear that you had an exceptional time while dining with us.

The price-point of our restaurant is reflective of the high quality food and top-notch service that we provide our patrons. We're glad that you recognized this and loved the various dishes that we had to offer.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing