We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sushi”

Sushiden Madison Ave
Ranked #3,496 of 13,681 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sushiden is a very reliable place for sushi. One eats very fresh and beautifully presented sushi. A great place to eat for lunch or dinner. I go there as often as I can.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Omakase”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The timing between nigiri and nigiri was perfect. The taste of the fish was very fresh. The sake was delicious. Never expected something so tasty.
What a surprise! One of the best sushi bars in New York. A hidden gem.
Try it, all the place was full of japanese people, that's a good sign, it's right in the japanese restaurant district (Yasuda, Sakagura, Aboriya kinosuke) Its traditional sushi, fresh fish. This is why New York is sushi heaven, because when you think you tasted the best, there is someone better. The waitresses in their kimonos are hilarious.

Seat at the sushi bar and ask for chef Kenji Kitahara.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I liked it better than Yasuda”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very authentic japanese sushi place. On the high end re price, but you get what you pay for. The otoro, salmon belly, and uni were great, amongst everything else on the menu. Also had fried chicken and pork belly which was also excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank almost406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good all around sushi place”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stopped into this place as it was right around the corner from our hotel. The atmosphere was very nice all of the staff was dressed in traditional Japanese attire. The service was good to start. We were attracted here because the menu has something for everyone. Even if you don't like sushi they have rolls with cooked fish and tempura. The prices were a little high but expected for the location. Good Food and good atmosphere. very fresh sushi.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Needatissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fresh excellent fish”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I must say I am told that I am a sushi snob. And only eat if I know they have the best quality fish. I know who distributes the fresh fish at this restaurant and they only buy the best. So without fail the sushi is very fresh and very good. You of course pay manhattan prices, and there is no parking around, so you have to park in a parking lot. Unless of course you take public transportation.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linatoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiden Madison Ave also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushiden Madison Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing