We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushy service”

Umberto's Clam House
Ranked #5,154 of 14,308 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Description: Come visit Umbertos Clam House, the legend of Mulberry Street in the heart of Little Italy! This historic restaurant has been serving happy locals, tourists and celebrities alike for over 40 years. We specialize in seafood and are the only ones in Little Italy to do so.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Manager stands out the front approaching passers by with a pushy sales angle, and a promise of free wine. We decided to go elsewhere because we wanted to go somewhere a little quieter..and with no pushy service. After a meal elsewhere (which was fantastic! Pellegrinos), we found ourselves walking back past umbertos on the way to the subway. The Manager saw us and couldnt resist running out to meet us and comment on us eating elsewhere, and have a laugh about it. He was rude and arrogant. Work on your customer service!! We will not go near umbertos again.

    • Service
2  Thank sh7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, Wayne, General Manager at Umberto's Clam House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Just saw your review on Google+ and have been in touch with you there! Hope to hear more from you.

Take care,

Wayne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Used a groupon for dinner last night. The food was very good, the staff was very attentive. The only issue we had was the way the restaurant determined the amount of tip to leave. According to groupon the patron decides how much of a tip to leave. Felt a little pressured to leave the amount the restaurant set.

1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, Wayne, General Manager at Umberto's Clam House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We're happy to hear that, tip aside, you enjoyed your meal with us, Kathleen! Just wondering, what all did you try? Thanks so much for taking a moment to review us and come back again soon!

Best regards,

Wayne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We used a restaurant.com certificate to dine at Umberto's Restaurant in Little Italy. The restaurant is large enough to be comfortable with plenty of waiters for quick service. The menu is varied and provides a wide selection of authentic Italian dishes. The food arrived hot and was very well prepared. The prices are quite high but the certificate helped make the final bill reasonable. We plan to return to Umberto's next year on our annual trip to the city. As for the guy outside, best advice, just ignore what he tells you since you can't get the free wine with any other discount. Accordion guy was pretty good but he was a little long winded, one song is fine, five songs is a little too much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, Wayne, General Manager at Umberto's Clam House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thanks for stopping in, Susan! We put a lot of care and attention into our cooking, so it's flattering to read your compliments about our menu. Which dishes did you try specifically? Look forward to seeing you the next time you're in New York! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Wayne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Umberto's Clam House is a small restaurant that is nicely decorated & clean.. I found the waiters to be less than accommodating. I ordered linguine and clam sauce. The pasta was cooked perfectly but the clams were large and tough. The sauce tasted salty and the Italian bread they served was cold. I've tasted better bought from the supermarket. The person I was with ordered a seafood melody, which was mussels, clams shrimps and calamari in a red sauce over linguine. The shrimps were tough and tasteless and the sauce was oily and salty. We had water with our meal and the above two dishes with tax and tip was $55. (the gratuity @18% was included in the check)I would not return to this restaurant..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, Wayne, General Manager at Umberto's Clam House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

I'm disappointed to hear you feel this way about our service. This isn't representative of our goals as a whole, so I promise to look into what happened a little further. When did you come in exactly?

Also, I apologize if the seafood and pasta tasted off. We understand how unappetizing an overly salty dish can be, so I'll make sure to let the kitchen know your thoughts. Any other suggestions you'd like for me to pass along? Though we take a lot of pride in our authentic recipes, we realize there's always room for improvement.

Hope to hear more from you! Thanks for sharing and take care.

Best regards,

Wayne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great food, mildly expensive, capable service, busy little sidewalk café, can be crowded and loudish. The hawk man at the front promised free wine to get in the door, but I had to ask for it twice. Don't need to return, but it was pretty good over all, and the meatballs were excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, Wayne, General Manager at Umberto's Clam House, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for stopping in, Erik! Though I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit for the most part, I was wondering, what could we do better next time? We know there's always space for improvement, so I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Wayne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto's Clam House also viewed

 

Been to Umberto's Clam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing