We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Small Corner Neighborhood Tavern”
Review of White Horse Tavern

White Horse Tavern
Ranked #4,149 of 16,559 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Description: The SceneThe literary-minded tourists and the local lushes who haunt this joint on weekends know that Dylan Thomas may have been Welsh but it was the scotch that killed him. At the site of his debauched death, various portraits of the poet hang on the dark-paneled walls while indifferent regulars focus on the task at hand: The White Horse has stayed in operation since 1880 by serving its customers--before Thomas and after--one drink at a time.The FoodIn our health-conscious century, though, we know it's as likely to be the pub grub as the booze that does you in. Nonetheless, White Horse's full-flavored burgers, delectable grilled chicken sandwich and slab-cut fries are worthy of poetic excesses--and perhaps even early death. The appetizer classics, leaning heavily on the common denominator of "fried," range from excellent (amply stuffed potato skins and sharp jalapeno poppers) to uninspired (lukewarm buffalo wings).
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking back uptown we came across a delightful corner pub. Started out with a shot of bourbon. Burgers were amazingly cooked to perfection. Added a cold brew to the meal. Friendly welcoming staff made us feel that they would see us again soon. The place gets noisy when the after work comes in.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 949daryln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They have an extensive beer list, but very little available. When we were there were no bottles and a few draught beers. There's little by the way of air conditioning, which is probably fine most of the year, but when we visited it was stifling. All that said it is an historic old pub with a good ambience.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last weekend was our 40th anniversary. To celebrate, we stayed overnight in the wonderful Roxy Hotel, and visited many of the places that were important to us when we were dating.
When we got to the White Horse Tavern, we told them that we were there because we had had our first date at the White Horse and wanted to have brunch, sitting at the same table. They could not have been more welcoming. We were immediately given glasses of champagne. Our waitress and the manager both spoke to us frequently, asking us details about the neighborhood 43 years ago. They seemed genuinely happy to have us there and made us feel so comfortable. And then, when we asked for the check, we were told that they had taken care of it.
More than the money, it is the welcoming attitude and their genuine interest that made those few hours so special to us last weekend. And, the champagne, the sparkling Chardonnay, the Caesar salad and the eggs with smashed potatoes are superb!
I suggest you go there whether or not it is your anniversary! It will be a celebration nonetheless!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank susanjph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

We really wanted to try this restaurant, but after waiting 20 minutes to get service - we left. Went to the Bus Stop Cafe. There were 2 other couples that also left. Not sure what is going on here, there was staff that saw us (we did get water)... no idea what was happening that night.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Generally you don't go to the White Horse if you are a gourmet - the burgers and grilled cheese are okay, the beers are very good and reasonably priced and the whole big meandering place just feels good. You almost think the writers who frequented the place left their spirits in the walls and it's a great place to enjoy a game of scrabble!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank CMBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to White Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing