We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still trucking along”
Review of Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen - CLOSED

Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $80
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Bedford Street
Transit: ACE/BDFM Trains to West 4th Street or 1 Train to Houston Street
Description: Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen is a West Village neighborhood favorite and destination restaurant. Restaurateurs Bruce and Eric Bromberg discovered in 1995 a 140 year-old wood burning brick oven and lovingly restored it and built Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen around it. We now proudly operate the only existing wood fired brick bread oven in New York City using methods learned from our time at Poilane Bakery in France, including challah, matzoh, and classic french baguettes. Our menu is eclectic and varied. Menu highlights include our award-winning Fried Chicken, Grilled Lamb Chops, Beef Marrow, locally caught fish and whole roasted pasture-to-table animals prepared in our brick oven, as well as a broad offering of lighter fare. At the heart of each Blue Ribbon Bakery experience is the wood-burning oven that sends the smell of freshly baked bread throughout the dining room. Don’t leave without walking downstairs to see the bakers in action.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still trucking along”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife/I and another couple had a sumptuous meal here last Saturday night. The food is both interesting and good. The service struck an excellent note and it's refreshing to see an old standby remain in top shape after many years. In a city where there's a constant chase for the new, Blue Ribbon deserves praise for it's ability to continue to make itself relevant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    52
    17
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a saturday brunch there with my wife. Had heard it mentioned by many people and walked by there a few times seeing long lines for weekend brunches. Its a cozy place (sat upstairs) with very friendly maitre d. Food was absolutely average, one step above diner fair. Both of us had poached eggs which were fairly bland. The menu is really limited for brunch, with four of the six egg dishes containing some kind of pork and a fifth with beef. No omlettes, no eggs any style. Although the bread appears to be baked on premises, it was not one of the better breads we have had, so nothing to write home about. So overall, an ok meal at great meal prices.

Helpful?
Thank InLoveWithProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to take a group for Brunch”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a large group of 14 to take for brunch and actually found it difficult to get a restaurant to take a large number. Tried Balthazar and found the booking staff really unhelpful, would only take the booking as a set menu. Booked the blue Ribbon Bakery through top table. Really fantastic experience, the food and service were outstanding. Started at the bar upstairs with drinks and then had a table downstairs next to the bakery. Only grip I would say it is a bit dark. However the food and service made up or this. I would highly recommend the poached eggs, with mushrooms, spinach, bacon and hollandaise. We will be back !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsj0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great brunch venue”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed a birthday brunch at blue ribbon which as always was a lively place! The food is reliably good, although this time was not piping hot. We recommend the challah French toast! Yum!
They have a variety of coffees, lattes, etc and their hot chocolate is excellent. Try their chocolate bread pudding a la mode!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So close to perfection, and an outstanding experience.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

New Year's Eve dinner, a show and watch the ball drop in Times Square (on TV!)

Every year for the past 20 years three couples have been gathering, we go out for dinner, a show (sometimes a Movie) and then watch the ball drop ... on TV. 20 years ago we used to go to Tines Square, but now too cold.

In any event this year we saw an off broadway show Buyer Cellar a terrific one man show about the hypothetical mall Barbra Striseand has in the basement of her house to store all her possessions. Excellent.

But I am getting ahead of myself, we went first to the the Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen on Downing Street in the West Village. We had a provate room downstairs opposite the 135 year old brick oven. The server told u s that the building was an old tenement building and was restored byt he chef/owners. he atmosphere was great the breads terrific, the only issue was that three of us wanted the Rack of Lambspecial and there were only two left. So we ordered the two specials that were left and the rest of the group ordered other menus items, appetizers, soups etc.

We sort of lost track of time enjoying the appetizers, the bread (oh did I mention that the breads were outstanding and they kept bringing them). So onto the main course. everything was unbelievably delicious, except the specials, which turned out to be very fatty. We finished and had to runt o the show and told the server the issue with the special, she immediatley came back apologizing and removed one of the specials from our bill. .

Outstanding customer servic, we did not ask for any accommodation and yet she decided to enhance our experience by doing this.

So I give them a five because they went out of the way to make the experience memorable.

I and our group, will definitely come back and look forward to eating here and at some of the other Bromberg Brother restaurants.

My compliments to the staff and the Brombergs for creating such a great dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ribbon Bakery Kitchen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing