We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun !”
Review of Izakaya MEW

Izakaya MEW
Ranked #58 of 13,759 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We enjoyed our meals here. Lots of options, service was great, drinks were creative. Most importantly, sushi was very fresh. Perfect before a show as everything moves quickly but you are not rushed. It's a casual restaurant and has a nice vibe. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kraydazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

Great place on 35th street. The entrance is quite anonymous and can easily be overlooked.

We went here without reservation but was lucky to get a table since the place was almost full. The acoustic is horrible and the place was quite noisy, but also part of the atmosphere.

The food was great (we tried the sushi, a deep fried and a stir fried dish). Including drinks and tips we paid 65 USD which was a great value.

The place was very crowded and when we were ready to pay it was difficult to get contact with a waitress. Besides that we only have positive things to say about this easily recommandable place.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mellowtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Great sushi place and very reasonably priced given its position. We visited at lunch time on a weekday and it was nice and quiet.
They close between lunch and dinner (around 2 pm) so be aware of that. Also they don’t accept credit cards, which could be an issue since this wasn’t communicated until the end of the meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rcs777707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Our first night in New York and we found this little gem of a restaurant right opposite our hotel. It’s hidden away and in a basement so you need to look hard otherwise you may just walk past it. We could only get in at about it 11.00pm so we put our names down and went for a drink a few doors down. It was still busy and buzzing when we returned and the wait did not disappoint. We sampled a range of dishes which were all great. Tasty Japanese food with efficient service. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank alwayshungry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Walk past and you may miss it. This place is well worth finding. We had to wait for a table but it did not disappoint! The food was sensational, the cocktails awesome and the staff friendly, fast and helpful. Hard to pick a favourite dish but start with the Sashimi Tacos.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank chrisjackson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya MEW also viewed

 

Been to Izakaya MEW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.