We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bet pizza ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sacco Pizza

Sacco Pizza
Ranked #1,960 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bet pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile



My husband and I wandered in the freezing cold to find this small pizza bar in Hell's Kitchen, well what can I say, best pizza ever. The perfect mix of sauce, toppings and cheese with a great crusty yet fluffy base. It doesn't look like much from the outside but what it lacks in modern decore it definitely makes up for in taste. We topped off an 18 inch pizza in about 20 minutes it was so good and we are not normally big eaters. You can get slices elsewhere for about a dollar where as saccos are about $2.50 but trust me its worth it. They also have a small seating area out the back.

Certainly worth the walk!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like having a taste of Brooklyn in Hells Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

At first glance this pizzeria doesn't scream "HEY WE ARE THE BEST PIZZA IN NYC!", but upon first taste I was transported back to Brooklyn and I was 10 years old again having a slice of my favorite slice of Brooklyn pizza. The ratio of cheese, sauce and bread was perfect. If you can't make it to Brooklyn for a slice of pizza then go to Sacco for great pizza fix and try their chicken rolls!!! They hit the spot every time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dabear185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New York pizza that hits the spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Walking around Hell's Kitchen, I needed a in-between meal snack and found the perfect place for a slice of pizza. Very simple setup with a walk-up window if you don't go inside, and they have a couple of seats in the back. Got a pepperoni slice, which was a very good sized portion. Pizza was hot, tasty, and on a thin crust so you didn't taste so much dough. Just what I was hoping from a New York style pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thumperbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great tasting pizza. All freshly cooked as you wait and friendly service. It does have a few tables at the back where you can eat in or take away and also does delivery. Very popular so does get busy at times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at a midtown hotel and decided to walk over to Sacco's on 9th avenue. Took about half an hour but it was well worth it. We ordered a 16" pepperoni that came out of the oven piping hot. Crust was thin (exactly what I wanted); cheese, tomato sauce and pepperoni were excellent

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacco Pizza also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sacco Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing