We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to talk while you eat good food!”
Review of Gene's Restaurant

Gene's Restaurant
Ranked #3,243 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place to talk while you eat good food!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We've been going to Gene's since 1971. It hasn't changed and that's a good thing. The food is consistently good, the staff is friendly, you can dress up or down, you can be alone or in a group, old, young - and you can hear!

A real neighborhood restaurant and always reliable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nstein94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud,Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect night out!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This restaurant is a favourite of an aunt of mine who lives in the village. We were very well looked after and the food was good too. Nothing was too much trouble. we went early on a Friday night and it was packed. It has a great relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-who-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to Old World Charm”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Charming, old world Italian experience.
Real roses on each table, cozy bar, a local hangout for locals.
Lovely atmosphere with excellent food.
Fine red sauces, carefully prepared.
My favorite was the Sauteed Liver, my friend's was the Sphagetti Bolonese.
Extraordinary service

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been going to Gene's for many years. I have never had a bad meal. The food is delicious, although a bit pricey. Service is excellent and the waiters are friendly and courteous. The profiterole is the best I've ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Waiter to be sacked”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

he menu brought me back to the early eighties when every restaurant in NY had Calv's liver with onions. Classic Italian menu, by most comes out of a can, sandy mussels, boiled veggies, the "creme brule" require a hammer to brake the layer of sugar only to find a very boring substance. The restaurant was full, don't know why, may be people didn't know that good food exist in the city.
Our waiter, I think he is a retired soldier, worked at the DMV and was a correction officer once.
He spoke in the same manner he was taught from his previous employers, he waters you dish with wine after filling your glass to the rim from across the table, knocks at your arm to get your attention to take when you are in conversation with your friend, he looks at the wall while taking your order, basically he would rather give them. No grace for his salt and pepper head, he must be union and the restaurant is afraid of firing him or the owner still believe that we are still in the age of new york waiters have to be rude. its the style.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salamny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing