We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like family”
Review of Isle of Capri

Isle of Capri
Ranked #1,864 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A friend who lives in the neighborhood took us to this place he has been going to for 30 years. From the moment we walked in to the time we left, we were treated like part of the owners big Italian family. Food was authentic and fresh. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in NYC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamat122963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    32
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional excellence”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A colleague told me his parents have dined here for 30 years, and knowing restaurant survival in Manhattan means something, I had to try it. From the '07 brunello, to the veal and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123jimBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have eaten here several times while visiting relatives in the city, and it is excellent... The service is great, as is the food... This restaurant has a lot of charm as well... The last time we were there, Joan Rivers was eating there with a friend, so you never know who you might see in this place... Do yourself a favor, and check it out for yourselves... You will not be disappointed...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoBa6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
346 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm, Welcoming Host, Great Food!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of those neighborhood gems that conveys a warm feeling of hospitality as soon as you enter. The place was packed on a recent Tuesday evening but the host gives you a welcoming smile that shows their appreciation that you're there. The four of us were seated quickly and we started off with a hot antipasto for the table. Shrimps, baked clams, grilled peppers, olives and eggplant were all quickly swept up with the accompanying warm bread. My plate-filling eggplant Parmigiana entre was the best I've ever had! My wife and her friend had the lamb chop special which included 8 chops. She said they were succulent and delicious as were the side of spinach and potato. Service was pleasant, helpful and professional. Our cappucinos and cafe's were hot and tasty. This family run business has been here for more than 50 yers and it keeps drawing diners who quickly become fans and they bring others. The several rooms have loads of character and after leaving you get the sense you've just left a friend's house. Prices were very reasonable. Try it, You'll love it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience From Start to Finish”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found this little corner restaurant and decided to stop in for dinner. The staff was great, the food was great and reasonably priced. The service began immediately with a great bruschetta and ended with a plate of sweets.Everything in-between was great. I brought my tablet to watch a baseball playoff game (discretely) and ended up have a great conversation with the maitre d' about baseball, the city, where he was from. He then brough two complimentary glasses of wine.
No doubt that I'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jemill00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isle of Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing