We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, relaxed, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Brasil Restaurant

Via Brasil Restaurant
Ranked #547 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxed, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a hot summer Tuesday night my friend and I found this restaurant to be beautiful place to relax (very quiet, with soft bossa nova music in the background). We had the fish of the day (tilapia) and the mussels. Both were extraordinarily good. Considering that tilapia is served a lot nowadays, this was the best I have ever had. The mussels were perfect, with a delicious broth that was as good as a soup. (I ate some with a spoon.) Very friendly and attentive service. I have found a place in midtown Manhattan that I plan to return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bassoonreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    130
    18
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality of food has slipped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have worked and lived in Brazil and love their food. I have eaten at this restaurant several times over the years and have taken friends. However, this time I was very disappointed with the food. I had to ask the waiter to bring some bread that when I bit into it was as hard as a rock. I ordered the traditional national bean and meat stew, Feijoada, that tasted like it was reheated a bit to long. The mango pudding had a firm crust that was tasty but underneath it was watery. There are several Brazilian restaurants on the same street. I will try another the next time I am in NY City.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_from_Delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet and quaint little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had been looking for a Brazilian restaurant for a while and were glad to come across this place during our trip to New York. The reaturaunt was pretty empty for Sunday dinner servixe. Which meant the waitress and manager were very attentive to our table. Water was always topped up promptly and the waitress was quiet, not pushy and polite. We ordered the calamari app and two Moquecas entrees, one with shrimp and the other Pollock. We love trying out different ethnic stews because they can really can give you a taste of that particular cuisine. We enjoyed our meals very much though more rice would have been appreciated. Definitely would like to try more menu items.
Overall, it made for a pleasant romantic dinner for two away from the hustle and bustle of the city without costing an arm and a leg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMariasMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After having the best Brazilian food in Rio, Brasilia, Bahia and other cities in Brazil, I found this to be as close to real Brazilian food as it gets in NYC>

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“authentic brazilian in nyc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

went here by myself while on business in ny as i passed it walking to work. was excellent. ive been to brazil and this was authentic, including the brazilian servers. brooke at bar was great bartender and made a great caipirinha - no club soda in their like most fake american made caipirinhas. had the seafood stew in coconut tomato sauce/broth which was great. will def go back for live music on fri/sat. decor inside could use some updating though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackcard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Brasil Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Via Brasil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing