We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“MY CARA MIA TRATTORIA'S MYSTICISM”
Review of Cara Mia

Cara Mia
Order Online
Ranked #1,171 of 17,320 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hell's Kitchen
Cross street: Between 45th &46th
Transit: E train
Reviewed October 19, 2019

August 2019. two months after moving from Cara Mia Trattoria's 653 Ninth Ave., Manhattan venue, they occupied for 22 years, Billy, their Maitre'D, pleasantly invited me inside, before I walked passed their new 697 Ninth Ave, premises. Seated at one of their table's pristine white tablecloths with fine dinner-ware, their serene vivacious ambiance includes Italian art and yesteryear's pop culture's black and white photos of famous Italian stars, plus four consecutive-annual Best Restaurant Awards, adorning its walls.
Cara Mia's fine Italian wine, paired well with their succulent homemade Crocchette Di Granchio's warm crab cakes, corn and avocado appetizers and Pratoli Ripieni's stuffed mushrooms with pancetta, mozzarella and red peppers. This best kept NYC Italian dining secret, with fresh healthy $9.95 lunches and pre-fix meals starting at $19.95, includes appetizers, despite my misconception that their pricey dinners start at $30.
Inevitably, divine mysticism enabled Billy to invite me, an ideal diner who'd soon treat family, colleagues or whomever, like a VIP, affordably, like thousands of tourists and locals raving about Cara Mia's jewel venue, six blocks from NYs Port Authority and Times Sq, in Cllinton-Hill/Hell's Kitchen's Manhattan residential/cultural/ commercial zone.
Mr. Besin, Cara Mia's owner's success includes their Maria Pia's West 51st Street, Intermezzo's 623 Ninth Avenue and his downtown Limon Jungle, Gallo Nero and Taqueria restaurants.
By Irma Tyus-Mitchell

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank base16met
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 531 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

Their homemade pasta was very good. Nice location if you are seeing a Broadway show. Space in the restaurant was quite tight and it was loud but the food is quite good.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank sharonl936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019 via mobile

Cara Mia, in Hell’s Kitchen, prepares delicious homemade Italian dishes served in a friendly, comfortable setting. We visit New York City at least once every year and always make a point to dine at Cara Mia. Our waiter, Eddie, took wonderful care of us making sure we had everything we wanted. It was a little difficult to find the restaurant this year because they have recently moved and Trip Advisor still has their old address. The new address is 693 9th ave. It’s across the street and up a couple of blocks from their old location. A wonderful place for an authentic Italian meal!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank fljulsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

What a find- stopped by for lunch — great food, good service and very reasonably priced! You won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank karin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Was looking for an italian restaurant in the area i was staying and came across Cara Mia small restaurant with good food and excellent service. I had the homemade tortellini and it was very good. My only concern was the dessert menu. Its one of those menus with the pictures of the dessert . Most of them do not look homemade. No cannoli on the menu. The service was very good.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WalterKopiske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cara Mia also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cara Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing