We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bar uptown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harlem Public

Harlem Public
Ranked #2,667 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Harlem
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best bar uptown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I must saying living 3 blocks away is tough to not come here all the time. The mac and steez and pb burger are delicious. Best mixologist in uptown Manhattan.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avocado fries and açai caipirinhas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What the 'hood needed bad - a gastropub, with huge choice of good beers, fine spirits and great food. Burgers to die for, great ambience. Can be a bit crowded and loud, but otherwise always a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great local bar in Harlem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great local bar that serves a good range of beers and food. I would recommend the cheeseburger. Can get very crowded as it's only a relatively small space so I suggest you go early. As a tourist It's the sort of local bar I wouldn't mind going to all the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank easytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly place, great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful gem in Harlem.
I'm glad I live close by and I can often enjoy that friendly vibe that's at Harlem public....
The only thing: too crowded!
Why don't you open another one?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 85buongustaio85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love love love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I hate crowds but in willing to tolerate them at this place so long as I get a table. The bar has a great vibe. Friendly staff and an amazing loaded grilled cheese. And the prices are super!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EiiGhT2FouR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Public also viewed

 
 

Been to Harlem Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing