We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Miss You, Gary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Sushi - CLOSED

Planet Sushi
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We Miss You, Gary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I came here with my family twice, both times ordering the same epic sushi roll. (Drumroll)... the Gary Roll! It is looks like a sandwich, but looks can be deceiving. Instead of bread, there is delicious sticky rice with caviar on top and to fill it, they put different kinds of fish and other ingredients in there. Make sure to get a side of spicy mayo - it was delicious! The Gary Roll was named after a chef that no longer works there. The other dishes were great and classily made on wooden boats and other platters. The location is pretty good and it is and definite recommendation from me for you to go to the awesome Planet Sushi!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My favorite sushi right now is here, at Planet Sushi. It may look like any other Asian restaurant, and you might think that the food is not high class from the outside. But on the inside, the staff is welcoming and kind and the food is amazing. And actually, their best dish is not on the menu. It's called the Gary Roll, named after a chef who no longer works there. It is a triangular shaped sushi, with an unusual combination of rice and different fish. Be sure to check it out, and get a side of spicy mayo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Durga1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“sushi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I went there for lunch with some friends and the food was great like always.
The price is ok.
Great service!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired planet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The sushi is still good and reasonably priced, but Planet Sushi is looking tired. Sadly, I sat facing the 'planet' that hangs by the entry. It was peeling with white styrofoam exposed and the top was just plain covered in dust. Convenient if you live or work in the neighborhood, but definitely not worth the trip otherwise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMSFBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre food. And a food poisoning....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went to this restaurant for lunch with my wife. I have been there a few times before and we went back for their reasonably priced lunch. It was 2pm and the waiter gave us the menus but no lunch menu. We knew about it so we asked for it. We also had to tell the people next table to us that there is a lunch menu and they should ask for it The main course is supposed to be served with soup and salad(it is printed in the menu). Again, the waiter playing dumb says "you want soup or salad with your main course?" We told him that we thought it was supposed to come with both. He giggled uncomfortably and said that some people prefer not to have the soup and the salad. I don't know if the restaurant is asking the staff to do that or if it was one particular waiter but this was unacceptable.
The food tasted ok. It is usually ok, nothing more. 20 minutes after I was done with the food my stomach started hurting really badly and I spent the rest of the day with terrible food poisoning.
I will not come back to this restaurant ever again. Not sure what was in my food but even just the pre-lunch experience of the waiter trying to get me to order from the expensive menu and not wanting to give me what I paid for is enough

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zermas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Sushi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing