We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro - CLOSED

Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro
Price range: $11 - $60
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 32nd Street between Park and Madison
Transit: 6, N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've been here a dozen times now since my last review and I have to say, I'm just over this place! Because I live in the area, I have dined here many a times with friends visiting from out of town. I think the meal is always just decent - The menu options are nothing creative nor inventive and they will charge an astronomical price to go with a dish just slightly above mediocre. In a market of so many competitive restaurants how do you justify your business plan?

The crowd is growing older and stodgier and older.. yea. No one is impressed anymore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilChubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    223
    104
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
296 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lively French Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were in NYC over the long weekend and my husband was craving Steak Frites. I wanted a lively atmosphere and we were happy to find Fromagerie Artisanal. We were able to make reservations and found the service to be very attentive. Our only complaint is that the waitstaff didn't seem as well versed in their wine menu as I would have expected. In addition to my husband having the steak frites, I had the mushroom butternut squash risotto and our daughter had the chicken under a brick - all delicious. Our bill for the three of us ( 2 adults, 1 child) came to $250.00 (a cocktail and glass of wine each for the adults, 1 fondue appetizer, 3 entrees and one shared dessert). The other patrons appeared to be a mix of mostly locals and a few tourists.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
386 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Just above average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The biggest 2 problems with this place is that the booths are old and you sink in way too far, and that the cheese smell is so strong it is almost an annoyance.
I must say hands down the best part of our experience was the wait staff, we had really friendly people assisting. Had an order issue but the waiter was all over it and corrected immediately. Food was average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch: no reservations great table ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Party of two no reservations; lovely corner nook table. Service ok but could have been more attentive. Food was very good though felt eggs were a bit under cooked in one dish. Pavlova dessert exceptional. We visit NYC for Westminster dog show and always try to have brunch or lunch here.

Helpful?
Thank TwoMillionMiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place on a Cold Winter's Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have dined at Artisanal on several occasions - most recent was a delightful celebration meal here in January. Food was on point - both fish and chicken main courses perfectly prepared as well as appetizers and desserts. Don't think there is a better restaurant chicken that Artisanal's chicken under a brick. Professional and attentive but not overbearing staff. Great place. Will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutYankee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing