We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average food”
Review of Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro - CLOSED

Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro
Price range: $11 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 32nd Street between Park and Madison
Transit: 6, N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street
New York City, New York
1 review
“Only average food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had duck, shrimp cocktail, and escargots (snails). Only the snails were good. Other food was ok, but not worth the visit or the price. The sauce of the duck was ok, not good and the side dishes did not complement the duck. The shrimp sauce was overpowering the shrimps. We could not enjoy the food. We have always had much better food in France.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Europeanstandards-no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    223
    104
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
330 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This is going to be Cheesy!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place never gets old, timeless classics. You would be remise if you didn't get the cheese or a fondue. We decided to chose our own cheeses this time and did a great job, but in the pass the cheese sommelier was very helpful. The portions were generous and the accompaniments were perfect. For dinner we had the hanger steak frites (truthfully it was a bit tough, I ordered it medium sans the garlic butter finish), the scallops were divine! There is a great wine selection at all price points. This time, no dessert, but in the past the chocolate fondue, sigh!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssbelltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, cocktails and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The bartender each night was very friendly and the drinks were top notch. The french food was delicious and I highly recommend you try as many of the appetizers as possible. Since it is open till midnight, we stopped by on two evenings after attending a broadway show. Great ending to a wonderful evening....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
277 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Quite nice and authentic French flair”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Restaurant :
Artisanal

Ambience :
Closed your eyes to rhe outside, and u r transported back to a tpical french
bistroin Paris. This place us as parisian as it gets.

Service :
Prompt and attentive.

Food :
Menu us filled wuth all French favourites from escargots to cold seafood platter
etc. We had the grilled octupus, escargots, wild mushroom risotto and the day
special if pork chops done in red wine sauce. The octopus was nicely chargrilled
around the edges and yet succulent in the muddle. The escargots came on a bed of
leek and toast. The taste was a little underwhelming. The pork chops was nicely
smoked and it came in a big slab....so much for french portions in New York. The
risotto was nicely done. Well wholesone flavour and the asparagus added a nice
crunch to it. We saw a lot of foljs having theur specialty award wining cheese
sandwich. Next time perhaps.

Conclusion :
Nice place for lunch around the empure state building. A pity the baguette wasnt
crispy enough for a french bistro and the butter wasnt salted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincentlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lively and cheesy, of course”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had brunch there recently, and shared both the delicious gougeres (French cheese puffs) and classic fondue. But the star for me was the fabulous frisee salad with lardons and poached egg. This is a wonderful, boisterous place that always feels like a party.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing