We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time...old New York glamour.”
Review of 21 Club

21 Club
Reserve with OpenTable
21 Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #264 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: 1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue B/D/R to Rockefeller Center
Description: Time-honored tipples, world-class wines, classic cuisine and surroundings steeped in history... New York City Restaurants From appetizing bar bites and artisanal beers, to signature cocktails and a Grand Award-winning wine list, Bar '21' & Lounge is the perfect place for a light lunch or a pre-theatre cocktail. Enjoy a drink at the bar and rub shoulders with New York's famous faces or secure a seat in the comfy, cozy lounge.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time...old New York glamour.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My friend and I dined in the bar which I though would be a little more casual but it was still very formal and seemed to be an older, corporate crowd. The building is lovely and doesn't look like it's changed much since the 20s and the bar ceiling had all american toys and sporting paraphernalia hanging from it which I thought was a cool decorative touch. You get a complimentary bread basket on arrival. I ordered the cocktail which had lavender in it but it had way too much and was like eating pot pourri. For my main I had the vegetarian tasting menu which was delicious...the asparagus tempura was cooked to perfection. The service was great. Probably more of a date place though or somewhere to take your grandparents!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KShadar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    255
    101
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“21 Club gets two thumbs up - almost”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

All in all a good dining experience but lacked in some ways. We arrived and had to wait for our table in the Bar Room. When we got to our table we had to wait for a menu and wait again to take our order. The service was slow. Our waiter however was friendly and had a wealth of knowledge about the celebrities who came to the 21 club and where they sat. Also showed us Jackie Gleason's pool cue from the hustler and PT109 model boat from JFK. We saw the table where Humphrey Bogart propsed to Lauren Bacall. The ceiling had all toy models of trucks, planes, trains and automobiles representing all of the CEO's who have dined there. It was very interesting. I had Gazpacho soup which was good and also had steak tartar. Mine was good. My husband had their famous burger which he thought was quite average. It came with fries. It was a good dining experience but probably would not go back. It is expensive and yu must wear a jacket.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar 21 within 21 Club”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Don't even think of coming in the door in jeans, shorts., flip-flops, etc. Luckily we had dress pants and dress shirt so we were allowed to get into the Bar 21 part. We weren't allowed into the restaurant without a suit jacket, so we stayed at the bar for drinks and appetizers.

Bartender, Mark, was very attentive and entertaining. Made the trip to Bar 21 a great experience. We had wonderful drinks that we'd never had before, with his questioning and direction, and had a great time.
I did get a glimpse of the dining room, and it was fascinating with toys covering the ceilings, brought in by company CEO's, sports stars, and celebrities over the years to showcase their particular brand (started in the late 20s).
We'll definitely dress up and visit again on our next NYC visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic eating experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The 21 Club is an experience which we will definitely experience again when we return to New York. Having borrowed a jacket from them to enable entry with the strict gentlemen must wear a jacket policy, it was great to walk through into the dining area and see the ceiling filled with hanging planes, tranes automises and assorted paraphernalia. It's really effective.
Our starter arrived and we were all very impressed with them, my soup of the day was really good similar comments made by the rest of our party.
The wait for the main courses appeared to be dragging and we were eventually told that the NYC health inspectors had arrived on a surprise visit and would not allow any food to be served while this was in progress.
The head waiter continued to advise on the delay and had said that they would do something about our delay. Once the delay was sorted and the food arrived it was excellent and well worth even our wait.
When the bill arrived I could see that we had not been charged for a round of drinks, which I was happy enough about. However, the head waiter then came over and apologised profusely about the bill and presented a revised bill which had the free round of drinks and a 20 per cent reduction too. This was more than fair in our view.
This is well worth a visit as an experience and the food lived up to it.
Check out the brass plaques around the wall, we were able to find that our table was John Steinbechs favourite and that Richard Nixon had also dined there.
Photograph outside with the lamp and jockeys in the background was obliged by the doorman.
Great place to go - just remember your jacket !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked 21 for a pre theatre dinner although you pre pay a set amount for set menu, when we arrived and saw the Al La Carte menu we just ordered from both which you can do and just pay the extra. I had Salmon Carpaccio followed by Sea Bass which was perfection and then New York Vanilla Cheesecake. It was all perfectly done and made your mouth water even before we started eating. The service was superb and Robert looked after us very well. The interior is very special and we happened to be there on Derby day so the atmosphere was buzzing. Altogether a great experience

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Club also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to 21 Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing