We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good doughnuts”
Review of Doughnut Plant

Doughnut Plant
Ranked #6 of 432 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Description: Doughnut Plant is the pioneer gourmet doughnut purveyor, making deliciously original doughnuts by hand, every day, since 1994.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good doughnuts”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I ordered tres leches cake($3.25) for me, creme brulee ($3.50) and vanilla bean yeast ($3) <which was supposedly vanilla bean with filling but the cashier probably didn't hear the "filling" part>. Tres Leches was good, it was like a cake in doughnut shape. Not too sweet, just enough for my taste :)

Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    169
    47
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Donut EVER”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

So we stumbled on this place by accident and thank goodness that we did!!! It is pricey, yes, but worth every penny and then some. The one that I went to bed planning thinking about and woke up anticipating is the creme brûlée donut. It is tiny, so savor every crunchy topped, creamy filled bite and then go back for more. The PB&J one was wonderful and the blackout, just ok, but that is because I am not a huge chocolate fan. Really, you can't go wrong with any choice, besides the choice not to get a creme brûlée with ever order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Creative Doughnut-ery”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stopped by here for a mid-afternoon snack. It is a bit out of the way, but totally worth it. Lots of super-creative flavors to choose from. Our favorite was the strawberry cake doughnut - delicious! Or if you prefer your doughnuts light and fluffy, go for a yeast doughnut - we had the Meyer Lemon :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best doughnuts!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A very small shop, little chance to have a seat, in fact we didn't, but honestly, the best doughnuts we've ever eaten. So many different tastes, that it's very hard to choose, but they are all fantastic!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy <3 <3”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place is within a <15 minute from Chinatown. Its close by a bagel spot and other stores. Picked up some doughnuts in March, after checking out doughnut plant in 23rd between 7th & 8th (I think). The place really had such a heating problem. Yes, it was cold outside still, but geez. The temperature inside, the staff says can't do anything about it. I mean it fogged up my glasses, and had to take off my jacket to purchase donuts. It was really sweltering of heat, and yummy doughnuts in there. Despite that though, the douhgnuts are yummy. Bought >$50 worth of goods for me, my family, and co-workers. The doughnuts I go for are the tres leches, and crème brûlée donuts. So, so, so yummy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ll_exx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doughnut Plant also viewed

 

Been to Doughnut Plant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing