We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Brazilian Restaurant in NYC”
Review of Casa

Casa
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,254 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Brazilian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
HAITI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favourite Brazilian Restaurant in NYC”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a hidden gem in a quiet neighborhood on Bedford Street. The atmosphere is fun and I would recommend making reservations beforehand.The restaurant is small , so it can be difficult to obtain a table around 8pm .It can also be noisy .
We always eat the same :Feijoada : We split the dish , they add $4 to the bill. It's delicious !
There is enough to eat for two . Plus we love their Caiprinhas! The best in town ! Many bars serve this cocktail , far too sweet!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LATINHAITI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Traditional Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been to many brazilian restaurants and most of them are one typical style of brazilian food.
This restaurant has a very diverse, authentic menu.
The restaurant is small and cozy. Seating is a bit close, but all of that does not matter.
Service was impecable and I'd definitely recommend trying it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite NYC Restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Casa is probably the most restaurant i visit the most in NYC...Anytime I'm in town which is often I'm gonna at least eat here once. My first visit was back in 2008 and it hasn't skipped a beat since then even though some of my favorite bartenders have moved on to other places. Casa is not your stereotypical Brazilian steakhouse...It's a homestyle Brazilian restaurant with the owner hailing from Minas Gerais in Brazil. Lots of Brazilian comfort food and amazing caipirinaha's. Every person I introduce to Casa always walk away having had an amazing meal and usually return on their own. My favorites are the Picanha Steak, Pao de Quejo and Sausage with onions...Although it's hard to pick favorites as they tend to change based on mood. I love, love, love this restaurant in the West Village.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Brazilian”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I've been there with my sister and a friend and our experience was good. The place is small but really cute and located in one of the best spot in NY. The quality of food is good and I loved the fajoada. My Caipirinha was a bit too strong and I didn't finish it. Price is good.
For sure I'll go back again...

Helpful?
Thank FrancescoSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Natural and familiar atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was in Casa one Sunday night. The restaurant is small but nicely set: I loved their simple but fresh white embroired mats which seem someone has taken out from granny's closet. The waiter is very nice and suggested us to taste the capirinhas which is delicious. The food is really good, it has an home flavour. I recommend eversione to dine here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pino1cchio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing