We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy surroundings . Fabulous food”
Review of Rosie O'Grady's

Rosie O'Grady's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosie O'Grady's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #427 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 52nd Street
Transit: D & E trains to 7th Avenue-53rd Street; 1 train to 50th Street; N & R trains to 49th Street; C train to 50th Street
Description: Family owned and operated for over 30 years, Rosie O'Grady's is conveniently located in Midtown. We offer full lunch and dinner menus featuring dishes for all tastes. You can enjoy the finest quality Prime USDA steaks and fresh seafood cooked to your liking, as well as hearty pastas, or light crispy salads. Main Bar open daily till 3:00 a.m. Our lower level Pub is open Monday thru Saturday, after 5:00 p.m. and offers our Gastropub Menu. Live music every Saturday after 10:00 p.m.
melbourne / australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cosy surroundings . Fabulous food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a another great place for a meal in New York.

Obviously . known for it's food as the place was almost a full house.

Staff were very attentive & made suggestions as to food & wine .

Food was excellent & I had the scallops which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Service was excellent & delivery of food quite fast.

Try them out as you will love this place .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinkydi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    639
    299
    90
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,790 reviews
1,100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Fine for drinks not food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went here for happy hour and the drinks were ok. I did not like their chocolate martini. We decided to order finger foods (chicken fingers, cheese fries, and mozzeralla sticks) all was bad and over cooked. I would not order food from here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“123lovetravel2013”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this wonderful restaurant while wandering around before a Broadway show. Each of the six of us in our group had a delicious lunch. The service was erect and the food even better. A true gem in a city full of great places to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123lovetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Over-Rated and Over-Priced”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here during our stay in New York as a change from The Stagecoach Tavern, further up 7th Avenue, where we'd eaten the previous two evenings. What a mistake! The greeting was lukewarm, the service inattentive and the food mediocre at best but with a price tag that warranted far better. The shrimp starter was unimaginative and the crab cake tiny. The mains were slightly more appealing but to be honest, that wasn't difficult. One dessert, two coffees and two beers later we had a bill for $130 which was way too much for the quality and quantity of the food on offer. We felt ripped off at this run of the mill place and really wished we'd remained loyal to The Stagecoach. We'd recommend there over Rosie O'Grady's any day of the week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great watering hole”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

So we decided to head in after seeing a large number of local business people head in. We went to the downstairs bar to have a few drinks. The price was average for NYC but the drinks were good and strong. Definitely a good spot to hang out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erawson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie O'Grady's also viewed

 

Been to Rosie O'Grady's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing