We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”

44 Southwest Ristorante & Bar
Ranked #1,889 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: 44 SW Ristorante & Bar is a family owned traditional Italian restaurant in the Hell’s Kitchen area of New York City.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

this nice little restaurant in the hells kitchen area of new york (9th ave) was such a nice change from the burger places that are everywhere in america. a little on the pricey side but well worth it. the chicken marsala was awesome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    108
    41
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Midtown has plenty of better restaurants! Dont waste your $$”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant is dark. We were seated right away not given any napkins the entire meal. $18 for chicken parm, very small portions, sauce had no flavor no seasoning. Service was very slow. We were never given any bread left hungry. Save your $ and go somewhere else

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yearofchange2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Looking outside at the menu we were greeted by the manageress who was very friendly and enthusiastic. Once inside we were completely ignored. When seated inside our waitress seamed completely bored and uninterested. After repeating our drinks order it came back wrong. Later on we ordered more drinks from the chap who appeared to be the head waiter. They never came so we had to re-order. Food was at best poor and items promised on the menu were missing. All through the meal the manageress was completely stressed, picking at her staff and relaying all ready laid tables.On leaving we said goodnight to the manageress who grunted and continued her conversation with a member of staff. This was our worst experience in New York. Definitely a place to avoid!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chappo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should have left after the bread was served”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

In search for some good italian food in the hell's kitchen area, we had the woman greet us outside the front door to come in for "fresh Pasta".
They brought bread to the table, that was stale tasting with hard butter.
I ordered the cannelloi, my husband the "momma's best spegettti". The pasta was not fresh or homemade. The sauce tasted like something out of the jar. and the meatballs were dry. My cannelloi was nuked. When they asked us if we would like parmesan on our pasta, I was shocked when i said yes and got powdered cheese!.

Should have ate at Joe G's...the little bar in the basement of the DaVinci, about 6 blocks down. Now that's fresh pasta!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yukoners66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food was excellent. The management was super friendly and helpful. Our waiter was a bit overbearing but the food and atmosphere more than made up for it. The cocktail selection was good as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 44 Southwest Ristorante & Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to 44 Southwest Ristorante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing