We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Cuban Food!!!”
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Reserve with OpenTable
Calle Ocho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #873 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Between Columbus and Central Park West
Transit: 1 at 79th Street and Broadway and B & C at 81st Street and Central Park West.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Cuban Food!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, terrific food and service. We had Red Snapper ceviche, Paella and strip bass - very tasty and full of flavor! Desert was a delicious way to end the evening, Mango Flan was the best we've had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliannuZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    153
    47
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have visited this nice restaurant in june 2012 and we were afraid cause we are a little diffident on restaurants inside hotels. ... But this was absolutely great! Food fusion-latin inspired full of taste and lots of choices.... Sunday we also enjoyed free sangria that was awsome!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in the Excelsior Hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Varied menu, good food, pleasant atmosphere, and convenient for anyone staying at the hotel or in the neighborhood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant is in the Excelsior Hotel on the upper west side. I didn't research in advance. It was in our hotel and it was recommended by 3 outside sources. It was delicious! It was Latin-type food - maybe Cuban. So many choices! I ended up going with their special of the evening and loved it. They have a number of Sangria offerings. Our groups tried 2 of the white varieties and loved their fruity combinations. The staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Experience in town! ”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A must visit restaurant. Service is excellent and food is exquisite. My recommendation is the calamari and paella. Don't forget the mojito or sangria. Best in New York.

Helpful?
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing