We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The inside park like setting is romantic and peaceful”
Review of The Four Seasons Restaurant - CLOSED

The Four Seasons Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Park and Lexington Avenues
Transit: 6 train to 51st Street E, M trains to Lexington Ave/53rd Street 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R to 59th Street / Lexington Ave
Description: The Grill Room at The Four Seasons Restaurant is truly a New York phenomenon. Attracting New Yorkers for generations, it's played host to every major social event from JFK's 45th birthday party to Manhattan's last Grammy Awards celebration. Open Monday through Friday, the Grill Room is home to the original New York "Power Lunch." At night the Grill caters to those interested in flavorful cocktails and a bite to eat within Phillip Johnson's one-of-a-kind design.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The inside park like setting is romantic and peaceful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a New York institution. The food is rock solid as is the service and attention to detail. You are in a place of power players and need to dress and act appropriately as this is a NYC business spot to see and be seen. Well worth it too!

Ask for a room on the balcony or near the inside pond. I prefer the balcony to gaze at the people below and also it is quieter then in the main seating area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    89
    45
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Celebrate tradition”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

A couple of friends invite me to this restaurant. The service is top notch.
Champagne to start with and some good bites. She called the duck they are known for it. Table side service. We eat too much. It was very good and traditional. Nothing creative but every detail was well done. I loved the pickled garlic with the olives... Wish I could get that recipe.
Thanks to all the staff and specially to the captain they treat us like family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VidaVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quintessential New York”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Mies/Philip Johnson interior of this exquisite restaurant propels the fortunate diner into instant Zen-mode. As a native New Yorker, I'm hard pressed to think of another venue that better shows off New York at its best and most sophisticated. If you're visiting the Big Apple from another continent and haven't yet been to the Four Seasons, GO!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank villagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A special place for fine dining”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been going to the Four Seasons for 20 years now. WE ahve our favorite foods and waiter and nothing has changed.
If it is a special occasion you will always receive the cotton candy with an unexpected surprise underneath.
The crispy duck is sensational and is a must to try. Order a souffle no matter waht flavor they are all good. They have the best cosmopolitan around.
Our waiter knows us by name we always ask for him when we go.
It truly is a special place for a special night. Depending on what season the trees in teh pool room will change
It is really beautiful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice looking restaurant but rude service dominates”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had dinner with my wife and friends. Service was extremely rude and the food was good but not anything special. If I was just with my wife I would have got up and left due to the rude wait staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank minaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Seasons Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing