We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On 55th street and on a snowy day, it is a good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bonne Soupe

La Bonne Soupe
Ranked #343 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: Located in the heart of Midtown, La Bonne Soupe is a classic French bistro serving delicious fare at reasonable prices. From its signature soupe a l"ognion to savory crepes, steaks and fondue, La Bonne Soupe features timeless bistro classics as well as daily specials and a prix fixe. Open in 1973, the restaurant has undergone a extensive renovation in the past year.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“On 55th street and on a snowy day, it is a good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have eaten here 3 times now. And I confess I am a huge fan of Katsu-hama/Menchanko Tei across the street for tonkatsu and ramen but when you just want a change of pace, the soup, salads, and the poulet roti here is very good. It is cramped cheek and jowl, and the crowd is very "non-ethnic", but bistro style food is very good and solid if not spectacular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    330
    74
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“We had an enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had an enjoyable meal. My husband loved the French Onion Soup. The salad was average. My medium rare steak was closer to rare but still good, minus the middle which was to rare. Our server seemed very rushed and basically took our order and gave us our check. The lack of service made the dinner linger which was actually nice. The prices where good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nasty, surly and unpleasant staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was part of a group of 14 who had a confirmed 1:30 reservation on a rainy Friday. When we arrived, we were told that our table was not ready and we could not wait in the enclosed vestibule because there were too many of us (we all fit quite comfortably)...so we were unceremoniously ordered to wait outside. When we were finally seated, the server was surly and did nothing to make us feel welcome. The food was fine...salads, omelettes, soup and burgers...nothing special.
There are too many restaurants in NYC to spend your money at a place.whose staff is so nasty.
If they could not comfortably accommodate a group of our size, they should not have taken the reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were recommended this by a friend and we were so pleased we found and tried it.
We were told there was a 30 minute wait so we went to the irish bar across the road for a drink and when we returned our table was ready.
I had the special, French Onion Soup was amazing, do try it. The salad has the house dressing on which was fab as well and the caramel creme was great and it included a glass a wine so was good value for money.
Dont miss this little gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mothership2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We often go to the theater in NYC. Over the years we have dined at La Bonne Soupe many, many times. In fact it is one of our favorite restaurants. Service has always been optimal and friendly. Our favorite choices from the menu are the crepes and the French Onion soup. House salad dressing is delicious. Dessert choice is 'creme caramel.' Moderately priced it is definitely a place we keep returning to as it is not touristy! Seems to be frequented by locals. Bon appetit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3uniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Soupe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Bonne Soupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing