We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner and reasonable price”
Review of La Bonne Soupe

La Bonne Soupe
Ranked #378 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: Located in the heart of Midtown, La Bonne Soupe is a classic French bistro serving delicious fare at reasonable prices. From its signature soupe a l"ognion to savory crepes, steaks and fondue, La Bonne Soupe features timeless bistro classics as well as daily specials and a prix fixe. Open in 1973, the restaurant has undergone a extensive renovation in the past year.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and reasonable price”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thanks to TA reviews, we settled on La Bonne Soupe for dinner this past Friday night. It was just over $100 for 2 adults and 1 child w drinks, apps, entrees and dessert. The lamb burger, fries and French onion soup were fabulous. Crepes were not. They were kind of thick and doughy. Chocolate fondue for dessert thrilled our 10 year old daughter. Btw, we did not need a reservation at 7 pm.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarbyBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    341
    82
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great French Onion soup and more in Midtown”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A group of us enjoyed a classic French meal upstairs at La Bonne Soupe. We'd heard the French Onion soup was excellent - and it was. Also great were the Onion Goat Cheese tart, the lamb burger on brioche bread, the crispy French fries and the chocolate mousse. Servers were attentive, but not intrusive. The six of us could converse without too much noise in the room. Lovely pre-show dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank APBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get the mussels!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was the best meal we had while in NYC! Having been to France, I wasn’t sure the food would be authentic, but it was! The waitstaff all seemed to be French as well, which added to the experience. Walking in, I felt like I had been transported back to a little café in Paris. The only part of the ambiance that would have sealed the deal for me was if the music were Parisian, rather than American. We both had mussels, with different sauces, a glass of wine, and shared a dessert of chocolate mousse. It was all deliciously delectable. For the size of our meal and the quality, we found it to be very affordable for the city. For the two of us, including gratuity it was $80. We plan to return on our next trip to NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Balcony Seating Made it Perfect”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Three of us enjoyed dinner here before going to the theater. We had 6:00 reservations and arrived before the crowd. Thankfully they were able to seat us on the little outdoor balcony. Its a tiny balcony but the inside of the restaurant looked pretty tight. We enjoyed a nice relaxing dinner with great food and a carafe of house wine. We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed the house Chardonnay. Prices are great and the menu has a great selection. We loved meeting the other locals eating at the restaurant and the other family on the balcony spoke fluent French. Definitely not a tourist trap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlcrzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ok lunch”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a late lunch here after spending several hours at MoMA. I had the foundue and it was just average. The consistency of the fondue was off. The cheese was too thick, and needed more wine. I also didn't taste any kirsch which is necessary for a traditional cheese fondue. I had the pleasure of having a Swiss born and raised aunt who made an exceptional fondue so perhaps I am a harsh critic. My partner had the mushroom barley soup with bread and a salad and that was very good. The prices are reasonable and the location is close to MoMA and Central Park. The service is typical NYC, a little aloof and harried but not bad. I would go back and try something other than the fondue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojo603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Soupe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Bonne Soupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing