We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French fare”
Review of La Bonne Soupe

La Bonne Soupe
Ranked #367 of 13,937 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: Located in the heart of Midtown, La Bonne Soupe is a classic French bistro serving delicious fare at reasonable prices. From its signature soupe a l"ognion to savory crepes, steaks and fondue, La Bonne Soupe features timeless bistro classics as well as daily specials and a prix fixe. Open in 1973, the restaurant has undergone a extensive renovation in the past year.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We go to NYC several times a year, and we make a point to go to La Bonne Soupe. This time I had the Thai mussels and was delighted with their version of this savoury offering. I think La Bonne Soupe will continue to be a favourite.

Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G, Manager at La Bonne Soupe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and for being a loyal supporter of our restaurant!

We hope you stop by during your next trip to NYC.

Best,

La Bonne Soupe Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for La Bonne Soupe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 487 of 826 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have enjoyed this restaurant for many years. Took my family prior to a show. Got there around 5-5:30 on a beautiful night and requested upstairs by the balcony. Service was attentive and quick but not pushing us out the door. The house salad dressing is so good..Yes, you can buy it. I had the Cheese Fondue ,...try dipping bread crumbs in salad dressing prior to cheese fondue...the kids had onion soupe ...one hanger steak and one salad. We love this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank need2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G, Manager at La Bonne Soupe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hello,

We're so happy that you enjoyed everything. The Fondue is one of our absolute favorites!

We hope you join us again soon.

Best,

-La Bonne Soupe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We loved the place! Great food great service...definitely we will come back. Even though we were a group of 15 they provided outstanding service to our family.

1  Thank ggessen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean G, Manager at La Bonne Soupe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed and can't wait to see you again soon!

Best,

-La Bonne Soupe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been coming to this restaurant since before could even walk. After 30 years of having been lucky to have traveled to various places all over the world and living in Los Angeles being exposed to top notch eateries, I can still say that La Bonne Soup has some of the best food of anywhere I've ever been! I will not make a visit back to NYC without eating there at least once on my trip back. From there Filet to their Spinach Omlette with Mushroom sauce to their authentic Onion Soup that is prepared with the perfect about of ingredients and flavors down to their salads with homemade dressing I can assure you you will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeH0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G, Manager at La Bonne Soupe, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and for being a great supporter of our restaurant!
We're so happy that you enjoy each experience when you dine with us.
We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
The La Bonne Soupe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

When visiting NYC with my teenage daughter and her friends, La Bonne Soupe is a regular stop. You can count on delicious food at a very reasonable price. We love the crepes, salad dressing (take a bottle home with you!) and the French-style hamburgers, and their cheese fondue with an apple is a special treat in the winter. This time we were traveling with a vegan, and she raved about the lentil stew on the menu that met her standards. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend for lunch or dinner, but pre-theatre works especially well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G, Manager at La Bonne Soupe, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for being a supporter our restaurant! We're glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us once again and look forward to serving you on your next trip to New York.

Warm regards,
The La Bonne Soupe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Soupe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Bonne Soupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing