We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Possibly the worst restaurant”
Review of Rue 57

Rue 57
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/20
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #1,403 of 16,842 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Rue 57 is a French American Brasserie with a sushi bar located in Midtown Manhattan just blocks away from Central Park. We open for breakfast daily at 7:30AM and 9AM on the weekends. Join us after a day of shopping, or on your way to the theater at night. Our menu includes such favorites as the Brasserie Benedict, Brioche French Toast, our Classic Steak Frites, the delicious Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass. Our bar offers specialty cocktails, wine list and tasty draft and bottle beers. You can also sit and enjoy our succulent Sushi. We look forward to serving you!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Possibly the worst restaurant in NYC and got chased out for a bigger tip!!! Avoid this place - awful service and worse

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank valeriej561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made a reservation here as a fallback in case I couldn't get into other places in the neighborhood recommended by my hotel. (Note that you can't make a reservation for 1 person here through Open Table so I made mine for 2 ppl.) Hotel recommended Brooklyn Diner and Sarabeths, both within a couple blocks, but unfortunately both had waits. Returned to Rue 57, ordered coffee, eggs Benedict, and a bloody Mary. The waiter recommended the Benedict and described it as coming on "two croissants and thick cut ham." It actually came on the bottom half of 1 croissant cut in two pieces, and the ham was the quality and thickness of cold cuts. It was served with a dozen cornichons and wilted cress--not intentionally wilted--just sad, warm, overripe cress. I have never in my life sent back food and I was tempted. If in the neighborhood, try Brooklyn Diner or Sarabeths. Or Jams. $42 for a sub-par, one-course brunch is so not worth it.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

great staff, kind and making customer life easy
good food, we would go there anytime back in NYC
a nice wine list well paired with the food
fast service and attentive

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank qlte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We have eaten at this restaurant many times before and this has been the first bad experience. We ordered Ruben sandwiches. The bread was over toasted and rock hard. The corned beef was dried out and tasteless. OUr service was lousy. We will not visit again.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank sisterida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Go for a walk in Central Park - or a carriage ride- gawp at the amazing real estate - the architecture the people, then go to Rue 57 for a grand old brunch/ lunch experience! Think very posh Cafe Rouge, then add caviar !!!
Traditional French based eaterie, great shades of classic turn of the (20) century restaurants, busy bustling - perfect service - extensive menu - the sea fish platter is to die for - sandwiches - burgers all great, but above all the downtown New Yorkness of it all !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 101wille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue 57 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rue 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing