We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, fine, fine.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tocqueville

Tocqueville
Reserve with OpenTable
Tocqueville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #540 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Union Square and Fifth Avenue
Transit: Union Square 4,5,6,N,Q,R,L,F,M
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fine, fine, fine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Tocqueville is fine, fine, fine. The lighting is perfect, the location couldn't be easier to find, In Union Square. They have a four course tasting menu, it can be an option. This is one of the finest restaurants i've ever dine in New York City. Much better than other fine dining restaurants in Manhattan.
The red snapper sashimi was good. The sea urchin angel hair carbonara was delicious. The duck breast was chewy, but didn't matter because the whole experience was worth it. Even with that flaw it is a place to come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joann M, Owner at Tocqueville, responded to this review, June 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Tocqueville. We appreciate and highly value your comments. We are pleased to hear the sea urchin angel hair carbonara was delicious. The entire Tocqueville staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    45
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“really very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had dinner there last week & was very good.
The wine selection was outstanding and the meal was extremely good.
Will definately go there again.
The complimentary desert offered was well appreciated (on top of the deserts we'd ordered)
The atmosphere is quite upscale compared to other NY restaurants, which I loved.

The next table was having a wine tasting / degustation menu, which I was very envious of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joann M, Owner at Tocqueville, responded to this review, June 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Tocqueville. We appreciate and highly value your comments. We are pleased to hear your dinner was very good. The entire Tocqueville staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner, Outstanding Service, Very flexible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an outstanding meal here. A few standouts were the Sea Urchin, Octopus and Diver Scallops. We had the entire family with us and the staff and chef were very accomodating. The Chef made a marinara sauce special for our 9 year old. Our 7year old asked to come back for the Octopus. The servers timed the meal perfectly to accomodate the kids. Thank you Toqueville staff for a wonderful evening!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wianno157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joann M, Owner at Tocqueville, responded to this review, June 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Tocqueville. We appreciate and highly value your comments. We are pleased to hear the dinner and service were outstanding. The entire Tocqueville staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

A top 10 all time meal.
Cool location, wonderful service but the Wine and Food - outstanding.
The sea urchin appetizer, PHENOMENAL
The cod was perfect, texture, taste, balance.
The portions were perfect but too full for dessert.
The espresso was a perfect touch.
The room is small but the high ceiling make you feel like you are dining in a much larger room that is comfortable and classic.


Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Intheeventof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joann M, Owner at Tocqueville, responded to this review, June 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Tocqueville. We appreciate and highly value your comments. We are pleased to hear the cod was perfect. The entire Tocqueville staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Must go - really!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just superb! I thought about all the superlatives I could have given but really 'superb' does the trick. From the service to the food, it was just a lovely evening. We were very very early (and well before our early reservation) as we came after a Sunday matinee. We decided to have a cocktail at the bar. Friendly service and inventive cocktail menu. We ordered grill octopus to tide us over. Beautifully prepared - tender and paired with fennel and taro root - delicious. The four course tasting menu for dinner was simply excellent. My husband got the wine pairing with it. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and very willing to spend time discussing her careful selections. All the food was beautifully prepared and presented. Several lovely amuse bouche - beet cannoli were amazing. Highlight of the meal was the truffle parmesean grits with eggs and bacon. My expectations were low - how could something that seemed so overwrought be good. Well, it was way better than good - fantastic! Service was gracious yet friendly without being too intrusive. Pacing was appropriate for a pricey meal - no one rushing you but never did you wonder where is the next course. The room is pretty in an old world yet minimalist way - I guess 'understated elegant' would be the description. How have I never heard of this place? Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joann M, Owner at Tocqueville, responded to this review, June 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your lovely experience at Tocqueville. We appreciate and highly value your comments. We are pleased to hear the four course tasting menu was excellent. The entire Tocqueville staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tocqueville also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tocqueville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing