We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oldie but goodie in NY”
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
Ranked #105 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An oldie but goodie in NY”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the best restaurants in NY given combination of ambience, food and price. I pop in about once every two months to sit at the bar for lunch and have never been disappointed and rarely had to wait. Great summer experience is the BLT at the bar in August with fresh Jersey tomatoes and Berkshire pork and fresh arugula, but year round first rate experience, with good comfort food, a pleasant wine list and friendly staff. This was one of Danny Meyer's first restaurants that helped establish his well earned reputation and it is still going strong.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skippy482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    280
    113
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Friday night”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This restaurant is comfortable and easy - a bit like an old friend! If I lived in NY I would almost certainly visit this restaurant on a regular basis. The menu is solid with some good choices and the service is attentive and friendly. You could tell by the buzz the evening we visited that this place is well liked by those that patronise it. I was sad that we only ate there once, Union Square Cafe will almost certainly be on my hit lit next time I'm in town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A culinary experience to remember!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I are still talking about our experience dining at Union Square Cafe for the first time last week. I don't know what was more outstanding, the service or the food. Suffice it to say we spent hours over our meal and enjoyed every minute. The range of "snack" starters (one a "gift" from our server) to a new cocktail (our server even got me the recipe for it!) to the peanut butter sundae dessert was fabulous. The pork cheeks are sinfully delicious. I wish I had gotten our server's name, but she made the whole culinary journey one to remember.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited Union Square Cafe on one of our previous trips to New York and absolutely loved it. We were really looking forward to dining there again although sadly it didn't quite live up to our expectations. The restaurant seemed incredibly cramped and although the food was good and the service was pretty immaculate (although not particularly friendly) it didn't quite have the same vibe as on our previous visit. I thought also it seemed a lot more expensive although probably no more than other comparable New York restaurants. I think we will give this one a miss on future visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
223 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our second experience...”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The last time we were in NYC (in December, 2013) we decided to try this place for brunch on Sunday before we left for home. It was amazing! This trip, we chose it again after a weekend of Broadway shows. We met our nephew and his wife there this morning for brunch. Food: exquisite. Service: Above and beyond what I would expect from an establishment like this...and that includes the fact that they "stored" our luggage during brunch since we were not going back to the hotel before going home. This place is definitely a "must go" every time we are in the city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing