We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate”
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
Ranked #96 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I tried to book here some weeks in advance to book a dinner table for four to celebrate a 'certain birthday' for my dear wife. This is where she really wanted to celebrate. Nowhere else would do. My efforts were in vain as this is a very popular venue. Right up until the last day I waited anxiously for a cancellation, and finally within 3 hours of my preferred time, they emailed me to confirm the booking - phew!!! We had a great meal, with equally great table service. My wife was so happy. My only negative comment would be that the wine prices were totally disproportionate. I spent as more on wine as I did on the food for four - but heh. If you want to eat here on a Friday night, my advice is to book at least a month in advance, but you will have a great experience in a superb NY restaurant. Top Class.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    285
    113
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Every dish is a hero”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went there for lunch wih a group of colleagues and we tried a lot of different dishes. Every plate was delicious and well balanced. I can eat there everyday for the rest of my life.
If you are in the Union Square neighborhood, try this restaurant. you will not be disappointed.
food should be good always this way.
New York culinary at its best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moje a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not Great”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is consistently good, if not great. There's something comforting about this restaurant's ability to offer familiar favorites that are just as good five, ten, and even more years later. I applaud the owner for this. I think, however, the menu items are a little dated and aren't that creative. The polenta dish with gorgonzola was almost inedible - it had way too much cheese and too many nuts - but the rest of the menu was good. The bread could be a separate course because we ate so much of it. My small gripe: the waiter never asked why we didn't touch our side dish. If he had, I'd have told him it wasn't good. Overall, however, the experience was a good one.

Tip: if you try to book a reservation using Open Table (or something similar) and can't get in, don't despair. Call the restaurant directly or do like we did on a Saturday night at 8:00 p.m. - walk in and see if there's a table available. We got a table immediately even though our attempts to book using Open Table, weeks before the trip, were unsuccessful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still fabulous!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I haven't been here in about 10 years, but went for both lunch and dinner (different days) on a recent trip to NYC. USC has a slight Italian bent, but many choices to be had. My Moscow Mule cocktail was great - ginger beer, lime juice and vodka - my new favorite drink. I particularly recommend the beet salad and the trout, if they are on the menu.
The service was friendly and efficient. Love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good though a bit overpriced”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stopped by through our guide recommendation. For new york standards, the food is delicious and service was excellent.
Problem is that it is too pricey: for the price, the meals are too simple.
Being a french, this is great bistro food for 1star michelin price - does not worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L_ile_de_Tortuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing