We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Perfection”
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
Ranked #97 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Understated Perfection”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A truly New York Affiar. Perfectly understated charm with exceptional service and food to write home about. The Ossu Bucco is just as you would imagine it to be in a tuscan farmhouse. THe small bites menu changes every so often and every time a mouthful of heaven is served delicately for all to share. NYC wouldn't be the same with USC.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    292
    115
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still a landmark and great experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Union Square Cafe is a top-tier Manhattan food establishment, and maintains the high standard of cuisine for which it gained its famous reputation.

We ate dinner mid-week. The place - large - was fully booked. The staff is attentive; the wine list extraordinary; the food exquisitely prepared. Every morsel was cooked to perfection.

This is not cheap eats. Go for an occasion or if you simply want outstanding quality dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are really excited about eating here, I had the cookbook for years and booked well in advance for a reunion with some very old, dear friends. What a disappointment! The staff were borderline rude and haughty. The service at our table was dreadful despite our best efforts to charm the waitress. We ordered a starter with truffle and then had to be 'presented with the truffle'. How pretentious! The food was actually quite good but the staff ruined it for us. Appreciate that it is an institution but it felt like it was taking it's stature for granted.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still Going Strong”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed an absolutely great dinner last night. Starters were gulf shrimp and 6 superb Kunamoto oysters. The Kunamotos are quite small but absolutely delicious. For our main course we both had the Lasagna Bolgnese. This dish was full of great flavor and full of meat and cheese. Desserts were the tapioca pudding and the bread pudding. To accompany the meal we shared a bottle of Barbera D'asti. Service was impeccable. After so many years this restaurant continues giving good value, great food, and superb service. Very highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exceptional service, great setting”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Even though I was born and raised in NY, I've never eaten here until recently. I always thought it was a "tourist" place to go and reservations were hard to come by. BUT, this place really is wonderful. The cuisine is eclectic; a little bit of everything but more "American" than ethnic. I was told the menu changes weekly so you might check ahead of time if you have food preferences. The service was exemplary; the food well-prepared and seasoned; the desserts to die for, the setting charming and the prices quite reasonable (for NY standards). Make reservations well in advance if you have time preferences.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paintedskyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing