We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
Ranked #105 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
NYC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went here for lunch with a friend and we both loved it! Salads and appetizers, but everything was to an excellent standard.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank swanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    275
    110
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's almost too popular”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

But Danny Meyers is a marvel, and so is this restaurant. I discoverd a great champagne here - Billecart Salmon. That's my lodestone for other restaurants. Food is so delicious and presentation is perfection. The tables near the bar are congested and a bit noisy, but don't pass it up.

Helpful?
Thank babuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia,pa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“disappointing expereience”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having lived in Philadelphia for a long time, going up to NYC for th day and especially for dinner always presented something to look forward to. i'm sorry to say that USC was a disappointment. our table, towards the back of the restaurant in direct line with the door was uncomfortably draughty though the evening was relatively mild. but more importantly the food was mediocre. EVERYTHING was over salted- the sign in my mind of an unconfident chef, at best. I had Lamb chops for my main course, they tasted well past their prime and re-nuked as opposed to freshly grilled. really? the dessert my husband and i shared, the S'mores, was equally unforgettable. this place is running on fumes. There are a dozen restaurants in PHila so much beter at a similar price point. you're better off taking the train DOWN to dine with us rather than vis a versa.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbdentst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value and wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Union Square Cafe is very classy very relaxed at the same time.

The service was excellent and the food was superb. The waitress made you feel like she was there just for you whilst at the same time not being intrusive.

Not only was the food excellent and the best we had on our stay in NY the value was exceptional, with a main course in the region of $25-30 a head.

I would strongly recommend booking a table in advance as it did get very busy and there were a lot of people sat at the bar waiting for a table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Union Square Cafe-brunch/lunch”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place was recommended to us and we were wowed. Right by Union Square and great shopping, this unpretentious, reasonably priced, and exceptional food, was funky and beautifully decorated. We sat at the bar, and chatted with the bartender, who really enjoyed her job. We found out the care that was taken with menu planning. The menu changes daily according to what local food items are available. You can be sure you are getting the most fresh and best food of the day. Highly recommend this NY gem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sleepylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing