We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaks my heart, but it's not as good as it used to be...”
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
Ranked #99 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breaks my heart, but it's not as good as it used to be...”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A trip to New York City is not complete without lunch at Union Square Cafe. That's what I used to believe, anyway. Unfortunately the quality has gone down. It's just "OK." And I don't want to spend $50 on an "OK" lunch.

I had the tuna steak at the server's suggestion ($32). It came out cold, which the girl said was the way it was "supposed to be." (maybe I'm crazy?) Anyway, she took it back and the same piece of meat was re-cooked and it still wasn't hot. I understand I got it on the rare side, but I know that plate was just sitting up there somewhere. And I was disappointed they just schlepped it back on the same plate.

I got the chocolate bread pudding with rasberry swirl. It was scrumptious. It was also $9 and I could've eaten two or three of them, as I was still a little hungry after the entree.

All in all, I'd come for dessert again, but not lunch. It ends up being over-priced when things aren't done to perfection and service is less-than-impeccable. :/

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryann617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    292
    115
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service,nice ambience”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our daughter made reservations for us to have a nice dinner during our visit to NYC. Enjoyed our dinner, our waiter was very attentive, all our main courses were delicious (I had the crab stuffed quail). Loved the warm and inviting ambience.The desserts were fabulous (I ordered the chocolate brioche pudding,my husband and son had the blueberry pie). Such a great restaurant to have a relaxing dinner with family and just enjoy a great meal in a warm atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galtraveller22011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They are "phoning" it in....”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Lovely room, alittle loud, very nice staff, however, entrees seem to be a little tired, main course did not seem too invested. The best were the olives served upon sitting !!! Hmmm, if I were to return, I would focus on the pasta and/or appetizers, again, entrees tasted very TIRED. After waiting in line for about 10 minutes to use the only single stall men's facility, my husband was astonished at limited facilities provided given the size of restaurant and people served. As native NYorkers, we were overall, surprised and disappointed with our experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aimee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Reliable”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I can always depend on a good meal and attentive service here. Great location, food and staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of my prefered restaurants in Ny!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This loved restaurant has creative contemporary cuisine,informal atmosphere , friendly and efficient service.We always repeat this place!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing