We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD SEAFOOD: GOOD AMBIANCE”
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #568 of 14,026 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: L, 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q & W trains to Union Square/14th Street. M14, M1, M2, M3, M6 & M7 buses to Union Square/14th Street.
Description: Blue Water Grill's Jazz Room is located on the lower level room of the popular Union Square seafood and sushi restaurant, Blue Water Grill. Dine in the Jazz Room for live music nightly beginning at 6pm. The full Blue Water Grill dinner menu is available in the Jazz Room, and the private room is available for events of up to 125 guests. Blue Water Grill's menu highlights the freshest seafood daily, with innovative offerings at the sushi bar and coming out of the kitchen. Blue Water Grill is also known for Sunday Brunch overlooking the Union Square Park Farmer's Market.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The designer took a cavernous space of a former bank and put a multi level eatery, plus outside deck, that is comfortable and roomy.
Add to that an interesting selection of well prepared dishes and n wonder this place has survived for years.
The bar is lively and not too noisy and there is even jazz in the basement dining room.
I ordered the brussels sprouts Caesar salad as an appetizer. It was imaginative and delicious. Wish I could find it elsewhere.
The rest of the meal was as good.
Definitely a go-to place in Union Square.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Blue Water Grill!

It truly means a lot to hear from you and we are delighted you enjoyed your brussels sprouts caesar salad!

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 380 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had dinner for a birthday occasion and it was DELICIOUS. Bailey was our server and she went above and beyond to make sure everything is excellent. The restaurant looked spacious and very clean and we def would be back again for more...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Blue Water Grill!

We are delighted you chose to spend such a special occasion dining with us and are happy to hear you enjoyed it!

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had lunch here and it was a great. Food was delicious and there's a real buzz in the place. Well worth a visit for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karlojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your lunch at Blue Water Grill!

We appreciate your great feedback and hope to have you join us again soon.

All the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant one cold, blustery night on Union Square while searching for the Union Square Grill -- and couldn't have been happier. Despite the lack of a reservation and a capacity crowd, we were promptly seated at a bar table and received attentive service throughout the delicious meal. Seafood's the thing here, and it's all terrific. The tuna sashimi starter was some of the best sushi we've ever tasted, and the main courses -- a succulent seabass and a flaky, flavorful branzino --were impeccably prepared with creative accompaniments. The wine list is extensive, with a good selection of half-bottles. The restaurant's cavernous, with Federal-era decor that suggests a former bank building, so things can get noisy. But you'll be enjoying the meal so much you may not feel like talking, anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Blue Water Grill!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the seafood and hope you can visit us again soon!

We wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We took advantage of "Restaurant Week" in the city to try restaurants that we haven't been to before. We had a delicious prix fixe lunch at the Blue Water Grill. Even though the menu was limited, the choices were interesting. We had the Manila clams to begin with, mahi mahi as our main course, and a chocolaty cake for dessert. The clam dish was disappointing because there were more shells than clams. The fish was nicely done and delicious - perfect for lunch. The cake was very good. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. The restaurant is located in a converted bank building. The interior is spacious, complete with marble details. although the restaurant was busy, we were seated in a relatively quiet area where we easily able to carry on a conversation. After looking at the full menu, we decided that this is a restaurant we would come back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernie3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Blue Water Grill!

We are delighted you chose to dine with us during Restaurant Week and that you were overall happy with your experience!

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing