We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch and seafood spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #415 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: L, 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q & W trains to Union Square/14th Street. M14, M1, M2, M3, M6 & M7 buses to Union Square/14th Street.
Description: Blue Water Grill's Jazz Room is located on the lower level room of the popular Union Square seafood and sushi restaurant, Blue Water Grill. Dine in the Jazz Room for live music nightly beginning at 6pm. The full Blue Water Grill dinner menu is available in the Jazz Room, and the private room is available for events of up to 125 guests. Blue Water Grill's menu highlights the freshest seafood daily, with innovative offerings at the sushi bar and coming out of the kitchen. Blue Water Grill is also known for Sunday Brunch overlooking the Union Square Park Farmer's Market.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brunch and seafood spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

this is a go to seafood and brunch spot for me. The food is consistently good and the service and atmosphere are good as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank n_fekete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    329
    107
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Union Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

There are many great restaurants in NYC. Blue Water Grill in Union Square is one of my fav. Ask to be seated upstairs by the railing. The are only a few of these tables, and for those of us who enjoy people watching these provide the best view in the house.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We dined in the Jazz room which was very nice however the band did not play for long periods and kept taking frequent breaks. We sat in this room to listen to music while we dined so that was frustrating. If not for this fact I would have given an excellent rating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & superb ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited the BWG for my 2nd time last Friday evening, Love the food, great service & the live jazz created a wonderful ambiance. I can highly recommend this restaurant - not cheap but well worth every dollar,,,,,Thank you & we will return, when next in NYC - hope its not another 10 years!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Phenomenal fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took my sister here for her birthday dinner and everything we ordered was fabulous. The stacking seafood tower must NOT be missed if you love fresh seafood. We ordered one as an appetizer. The oysters and clams were the best I have ever tasted. For my main entree, I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass with the wasabi sauce. I highly recommend this dish, the fish melts in your mouth and the flavors were excellent with an Asian flair. Our server was Megan, she gave us first class service never missing a thing. Sit upstairs, away from the loud music if anyone in your party is hard of hearing or doesn't like loud entertainment. Oh, this was a great meal for all of us. I will be thinking about that tower of fresh seafood for some time to come.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiewebbbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing