We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go with friends”

Sammy's Roumanian Steakhouse
Ranked #3,326 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go with friends”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Sammy's is the only restaurant I've found in nyc that includes food, vodka and great entertainment all night long. The experience that my group and I had is what brings us back. The place is a basement with an old style look to it. The entertainer guy is just hilarious. He finds people in the audience to pick on, does great Louis Armstrong impressions and has a great selection of songs. If you like Classic Jewish dishes, then you will definitely love Sammys. Their chopped liver is amazing! If you need a night of good food, laughs and just crazy moments with your friends than Sammys is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julesnyc202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    29
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A royal Jewish dining experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The food is good and entertaining in its own right. The staff, including the waiter and the DJ, are very entertaining. Starting off with the Vodka in the frozen bottles adds to the experience. We had fried Kreplach, potato latkes, and the veal. And for those of you like me who had only ever heard about schmalz ( chicken fat), just wait. It's not fancy but is a classic New York experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbetterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fun place for a taste of the Catskills”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The show includes humor so bad its good included being insulted, but in a fun way, songs in English, Yiddish, and hebrew. The food is very heavy and expensive but the experience is memorable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkertravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jewish soul food and culture at it's best”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I'm a foodie from San Francisco. I wouldn't recommend Sammy's for it's cuisine (and it ain't a steakhouse). You go for the experience--a flashback to my grandma's kitchen. Classic old world Jewish dishes (chopped liver with grilled onions you'll die for and from). Atmosphere is snug room with walls plastered with celebrity photos who dined here. And most importantly entertaining, funny keyboard singer who makes it feel like you're at a Bar Mitzvah celebration.

Be sure to order the bottle of Vodka served in a frozen block of ice for your table. Go as a group. Dance. Sing. Embrace Jewish soul food and culture for an evening and you will have great memories.

Disclaimer: You don't have to be Jewish to appreciate it as my catholic wife and Muslim sister-in-law had a blast

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank takeaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The atmosphere of Sammy's is fun and relaxed. It is basically like you are attending a sweet sixteen or bar/bat mitzvah party for the night. It is more fun if you go with a large group for an occasion. We got the pri fixe - I would say the food was average and the frozen vodka bottles are very expensive. It is definitely worth it if you know what you are getting yourself into and want a fun night out and a change of scene!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Roumanian Steakhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sammy's Roumanian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing